Thank you Giada

So for those who don’t know me, I recently moved out to Vancouver and started a new job. I had been welcomed among my new colleagues and thought what better way to solidify my place within the office than with a home-baked treat. I’ve never been much of a baker with the precise measurements and my lack of baking apparatus that comes with having a lack of space when moving across the country, but I had been wanting to expand my culinary skills, so I gave it a shot.
Lemon Ricotta Cookies

Lemon Ricotta Cookies

As I was leafing through my cookbooks, I came across a recipe from Giada de Laurentiis for “Lemon Ricotta Cookies  with a Lemon Glaze”. I had pretty much all of the ingredients, minus the Ricotta and the description sounded great, with it being more “cakey then crispy” and I’m all about a soft chewy cookie!

Except for my lack of an electric mixer and getting a good workout with my whisk, the recipe is pretty straight-forward. The recipe calls for it to make 44 cookies, but as I was spooning them out, I guess I made them a little bigger, because I ended up with 30 or so.

You can probably assume they turned out well based on my title and the fact that i’m writing about them, but they surpassed my expectations and have attained legendary status around the office!  

Lemon Ricotta Cookies

Lemon Ricotta Cookies

I suppose the best thing about them, aside from how tasty they are, is that they were unexpected, I could have baked something mediocre and have been applauded at the attempt, especially being a guy who cooks/bakes which came as a major shock to everyone. Ever since the cookies, I now get introduced to other people in the company as the “cookie’ guy and they proceed to tell how I made these cookies for everyone for no apparent reason. As an added bonus, it certainly doesn’t hurt when the story is told to the single ladies in the office!

Giada’s Lemon Ricotta Cookies with a Lemon Glaze

  • 2.5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 0.5 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 (15 ounce) container whole-milk ricotta cheese
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 3 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice

Glaze (which totally adds to the cookies, especially the zing of the zest!)

  • 1.5 cups of confectioners’ sugar
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 3 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 375F.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer (or whisk), beat the butter and granulated sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes (much, much longer manually!) Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating until incorporated. Add the ricotta cheese, lemon zest, and lemon juice and beat to combine. Stir in the dry ingredients.

Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Spoon the dough onto the baking sheets using about 2 tablespoons for each cookie. Bake for 15 minutes, until slightly golden at the edges. Remove from the oven and let the cookies rest on the baking sheet for 20 minutes

While they cool, combine the confectioners’ sugar, lemon zest, and lemon juice in a small bowl and stir until smooth. Spoon about 0.5 teaspoon of the glaze onto each cooled cookie and use the back of the spoon to spread it to the edges. Let the glaze harden for about 2 hours. Pack the cookies in an airtight container.

Of note – Unfortunately, I used low fat ricotta cheese, I thank my mother for that, who would always cut the amount of sugar in any of her baking.  Honestly, though, the cookies were still super light and fluffy and could be a little trick for those who want to make it a little more figure friendly.

11 Comments

Filed under Giada de Laurentiis, Lemon cookies, Vancouver

11 responses to “Thank you Giada

  1. Sandra

    :))) my heart just melted!!! This is soo you and that’s why people can’t resist you! It’s a beautiful gesture and everyone loves cookies! The more soft they are the better! Thanks for the recipe I’ll definetly try to make them…

  2. Robyn

    Hi! I didn’t know you were so into food! Mom just came back from Montreal and told me about your blog. It’s fantastic! You should send me your fave recipes, I’m about to open a restaurant with my partner. We’re always looking for new ideas. Are you coming to Toronto for Mom’s big birthday bash in the summer? I hope so! It’s been forever since we’ve seen you! Happy Hanukkah! xoxo Robyn

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      Hey Rob, thanks, glad you enjoyed it! I will keep cooking and writing, so I’ll for sure keep you posted if and when I uncover some treasures. If you’re looking for someting easy, sophisticated and amazing, you have to try the lemon ricotta cookies! If they’re a hit, just send your customer back to my blog:) Good luck with the resto and maybe this summer, I have no idea where i’ll even be living at the time!
      happy Chanukah to you as well!

  3. My mom bought a pound of ricotta cheese with no purpose in mind. . .thank for the idea!

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      I can’t think of a better way to use no purpose ricotta. They’ve been a hit everytime I’ve made them!

  4. Been thinking about these cookies lately and then I remembered that you posted this. Need something to do with the 3 half-eaten tubs of ricotta I have in my fridge, I’m thinking I may break down and actually do some baking!

  5. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Tastes Better With Friends « Tastes better with friends

  6. Robin

    I totally used this recipe to wow peeps in my first new job after the Olympic Games and am about to do it all again and probably take all the credit again too.
    This is a winner folks and now is the time to bake yer lemons off – its a bit early but happy holidays!!!

Leave a Reply

