Birthday Sugar Drop Cookies with Lime Zest

It’s always fun to surprise someone, isn’t it? So with that in mind, I set out last night to bake something for a friend at work who was celebrating her birthday. We’re a large group, so I figured rather than cake or cupcakes, why not do a birthday cookie and spread the wealth?  As I started leafing through some cookbooks, I realized my pantry wasn’t quite as “cookie-ready” as I would have liked, so the need to improvise was necessary.

Sugar Cookie with Lime Zest

I had the ingredients for Sugar Drop Cookies from the Joy of Cooking, but no cinnamon which the recipe called for. And at 10pm, I was too lazy to head out to the grocery store, so after a little browsing and brainstorming, I found a lime and zested away!

Sugar Cookies with Lime Zest

I was really happy as to how they turned out and although the cinnamon would have been great, the lime added a nice change. I tried making both, the balls and the flattened cookies and my preference and the general consensus was that the balls were better, as they were a little softer and covered in sugar!

And as for the birthday girl, I made 1 large cookie with a little hole for the candle and here’s hoping her birthday wish comes true! 

Now on to the recipe…

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Sift together:

  • 2.5 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (or in my case since I had no cinnamon, I replaced it with the zest of 1 lime)

Combine:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil

Add the flour mixture and beat well after each addition

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Add the flour mixture all at once and beat well. Shape the dough into 1/2-inch balls.

2 options

  • Dip the balls in granulated sugar OR flatten the balls as thin as you can between very lightly floured hands. To give a corrugated effect, score them in parallel lines with a fork dipped in flour and sprinkle with granulated sugar.

Bake about 10-12 minutes on a lightly greased cookie sheet

Taken from The Joy of Cooking (and modified with my lime zest)

4 Comments

Filed under Birthday cookie, Friends, Joy of Cooking, Lime Zest, Sugar Cookies

4 responses to “Birthday Sugar Drop Cookies with Lime Zest

  1. lkadmin

    Yum I think I will do some baking this weekend. Lime cookies? Tasty!

  2. Just curious..Is the lime flavoring strong or subtle? I would like to try these out on my Grandsons, but leery that they would eat them if the flavor is strong.

    For a little different read visit my blog @ The Straight Gospel No Chaser and leave me a comment please. Have a great day!!!

Leave a Reply

