Eating Mexican in Vancouver at Dona Cata

Maybe it was the lack of sun or the obscene amount of rain or maybe it was the craving for some cilantro, but I had a craving for some Mexican food.

Dona Cata was recommended by a colleague of mine at work who happens to be Mexican. He told me it’s good for Mexican food in Vancouver, but it’s not going to be like you’d find in Mexico. So with that cautious endorsement, I made my way to Dona Cata. I ordered taco al pastor (marinated pork) and taco carnita (pulled pork) and of course some guacamole. As I was waiting, I was given a plate of tortilla chips and to my surprise there was a counter of about 7-8 salsas to choose from. I scooped on some green salsa which had a nice kick to it.

Tacos and guacamole at Dona Cata

When I got home and dug in, my colleague was correct. It was decent, but having tasted taco al pastor in Mexico, it just wasn’t the same. The meat was a little overcooked and dry, which essentially makes or breaks the success of any taco. So needless to say, it was a disappointing, since overcooked meat can be avoided. Visually speaking, it was authentic, the flour tortillas were soft and it was garnished with cilantro and lime. As for the guacamole, that was very good, it was creamy and no doubt homemade!

Tacos at Dona Cata

If you have a craving and can’t quite make it across the border, go check out Dona Cata.

Dona Cata Mexican Restaurant & Taqueria

5076 Victoria Drive
Vancouver BC V5P 3T8

Tuesday to Saturday – 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM & 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Sunday – 12:00 PM to 5:00 PM
Monday – Closed

5 Comments

Filed under Cilantro, Dona Cata, guacamole, Mexican food, Salsa, taco al pastor, taco carnita, Vancouver

5 responses to “Eating Mexican in Vancouver at Dona Cata

  1. Ahh..reminds me of my meat eating days. But more so of a fine Tacqueria on the Gulf Coast of Mexico called….called…Taco Factory or the beach grill at The Hacienda in Puerto Vallarta. Ah Mexico..where 18 years olds are wise, taxi drivers are honest and people never shortchange you. I don’t miss meat..but I miss Tacos Al pastor

  2. I love Dona Cata, though I think the tacos aren’t as good as their plates.

  3. tastesbetterwithfriends

    I saw that you went last weekend. Hmm, I now may have to go back and try a plate (or two!)

  4. Love it…Mexcian recommending where to go for Mexican…he would know best right? Awesome.

    Ok I’ll have to go check it out and those DO look like authentic tacos… I’m only comparing to the Mexican places I’ve been to in LA. The double tortilla shell…the size…I could eat like 6 of those.

    soooo….where’s the dessert? =p

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      I know, I know, no dessert, i’m sorry to have disappointed you! I did take-out and wasn’t thinking alllll the way to dessert. I guess you’ll have to try them all:)

Leave a Reply

