Thank you Joy The Baker and Delicious Birthday Vegan Cake

Before I begin today, I’d like to acknowledge a wonderful gesture by Joy The Baker, who is conveniently found at  joythebaker.com. She mentioned myself and another dozen or so new food bloggers on her site today and i’m still at a loss for words with the results. I want to thank Joy and her readers for taking the time to click on my site and I hope you may find a couple of minutes in your day for me now after reading Joy’s blog of course:) Now, from one gift to another…

It’s the little things that you take for granted, so when I moved to Vancouver, all of a sudden new questions arose like where to get groceries, where to get good sushi, where is the closest and most inexpensive dry cleaner and most importantly, who is going to cut my hair? Luckily, my roommate referred me to someone and she’s super talented and a great person and after seeing her every 4-6 weeks since May i’m now happy to call her my friend!

Now, how does this have to do with food or eating? Well, last week, she told me it was her birthday and the salon manager forgot she was vegan, so the birthday pie he brought in was enjoyed by everyone but her! Well, I’m not much of a baker and even less of a vegan baker, but my goal was to surprise her with something she could eat. So after doing some research, I ended up finding a recipe on allrecipes.com for vegan cupcakes. Great plan, right? Well, it was great until I realized my muffin tins had been lent out but not returned yet, so plan B was a 8″ square cake.

Orange Zested Vanilla Vegan Cake

Well, i’m happy to report the following…

  • a) I had enough batter for 2 cakes since they weren’t going to be cupcakes, so I made a test cake for myself and gave it the thumbs up before making the 2nd cake for her
  • b) I surprised her
  • c) I read her the ingredients and she confirmed it was vegan and she could actually eat it
  • d) The leftovers were eaten up by her and her friends
  • e) Vegan doesn’t mean bland, this was tasty, moist and worthy of being made again!

Orange Zested Vanilla Vegan Cake (My name for it)

  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar (I used regular vinegar)
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk (First time I ever had almond milk, pretty good stuff!)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, warmed until liquid (I used vegetable oil)
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • My own little twist – Zest of 1 Orange (I added that in and it toally added to the batter)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease two 12 cup muffin tins or line with 18 paper baking cups (or cake pan if you have no idea where your muffin tins are)

Measure the vinegar into a measuring cup. Fill with almond milk to make 1 1/2 cups. Let stand until curdled, about 5 minutes. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the almond mixture, oil and vanilla. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir just until blended. Spoon the batter into the prepared cups, dividing evenly.

Bake in the preheated oven until the tops spring back when lightly pressed, 15 to 20 minutes (For the cake, it was closer to 22 minutes or so). Cool in the pan set over a wire rack. When cool, arrange the cupcakes on a serving platter. Frost with desired frosting.

So for the frosting, I mixed and whisked until smooth 1/3 cup of sifted powdered sugar, 2 tablespoons of sifted cocoa powder, 2 tablespoons of orange juice and a little more zest of the orange.

5 Comments

Filed under Friends, Joy The Baker, Orange Zest, Orange Zested Vanilla Vegan Cake, Vancouver, Vegan

5 responses to “Thank you Joy The Baker and Delicious Birthday Vegan Cake

  1. I am glad I found your blog via Joy!

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      I cannot even begin to thank Joy for mentioning me on her blog. I cannot believe how many of her readers clicked onto my blog and wrote wonderful messages like you did:) I’m glad I found your blog as well!

  2. Hey, it’s me at Southern Transplant, thanks for the comment! Thought I would check out your site, and I’m not disappointed, as everything looks yummy – especially since it seems you have a bit of a sweet tooth (that’s my weakness). The fried chicken on my site right now is actually from a restaurant in my home town, but I have been craving some good fried chicken since I left after Christmas, so look for that post (with gravy) soon!

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      Hey Laura, thanks for the kind words and glad I didn’t disapoint! I hope a non-southerner can duplicate your fried chicken, because i’d love to give it a shot!

  3. This sounds great!! Love how you veganized it for a friend, so sweet!

Leave a Reply

