Please don’t judge me, but it’s breakfast like The King

When you have a few days off between working the Olympics and the Paralympics, you have time to sleep in, buy some groceries and cook breakfast at home rather than stopping at Tim Horton’s or Starbucks in your blue smurf uniform. I’m not sure why, maybe because I had some time and wanted to treat myself but I had this desire for an Elvis Presley type breakfast including eggs, meat, bananas and peanut butter. So with that said, I picked up the necessary components and went all out and even bought some pancetta.

Elvis Presley breakfast

Now please don’t judge me…for starters, I cut up the pancetta into strips and tossed them into the fry pan with a little bit of olive oil and maple syrup. Once they got nice and crispy, I removed them and placed them onto a paper towel to absorb some of the grease. With the smell of pancetta goodness filling the kitchen, I decided to do my eggs sunny-side up in my pancetta-greased pan. Even though the grease in the pan made the outer edges of the eggs dark, it just added more flavor to the eggs.

To finish it off, peanut butter and bananas were tossed on to the toast and since I was going all out, I drizzled some maple syrup over the entire plate…if you’re gonna do it, you might as well do it properly, right?

Pancetta goodness

7 Comments

Filed under bananas, breakfast, eggs, Elvis Presley, maple syrup, Olympics, Pancetta, Paralympics, Peanut butter

7 responses to “Please don’t judge me, but it’s breakfast like The King

  1. Super Kelly

    Hi Ethan,
    first time I read your blog! for some reason I am hungry right now!

    Breakfast looked really good…
    Hope everything is good for you. Seems like you are getting back into a normalish life now.

    Kelly

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      Hi Kelly! Welcome to my blog, glad you could stop by and make you hungry, always a good sign:)
      Things are normalish but i’ll be unemployed within a week, so i’ll have more time to cook, eat and look for a job!

  2. Super Susy

    Dude, that looks amazing! But then again, anything that includes cured pork products is a winner to me. Mmmmmm bananas and bacon, that’s my dragon boat race weekend breakfast of choice!

    PS If Kelly can be Super, (and she is), then I want to be too!

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      You are Super and so is Kelly, so doubt about it!
      Very true about the awesomeness of cured pork…just can’t go wrong, can you? Next time, I should somehow wrap the pancetta around the banana:)

  3. nktrygg

    I used to go to a crepe shop on Robson street, across from the Library.

    They had a peanut butter/banana crepe on the menu, so I asked them to add bacon to it.

    I got it once a month, and I suggested they add it to the menu as Crepe a la Elvis

    but they didn’t – you can probably get it if you ask and tell them Nina sent you.

    http://ntrygg.wordpress.com/category/elvis-presley/

  4. Uhm, what is this business about smurfs at Starbucks? There weren’t a sponsor.
    Did I tell you about the Elvis breakfast in Halifax?
    and the Elvis burger in Atlanta?
    Delicious!!!

  5. That breakfast looks beastly….

Leave a Reply

