Bringing “Poulet en Vinaigre” to Canada

Have you ever been to a restaurant and had a meal so good that you had to try and replicate it at home? Well, if you caught my experience in Lyon, you know I had to try making “poulet en vinaigre” (chicken in vinegar) for myself.

I found a recipe on the Food Network site compliments of Emeril that seemed to be identical to what I had and even though it was listed as an “intermediate level” recipe, I gave it a go. Luckily, some friends of mine in Vancouver were willing to be the guinea pigs for my project. I was overall pretty happy with the result and I got a thumbs up from my friends and I’m pretty sure they were telling the truth, since they ate the leftover chicken the next day!

Chicken in Vinegar (Poulet en vinaigre)

From Emeril Lagasse on the Food Network

A quick side note, I tried to take pictures along the way as I was cooking, but I needed all my attention devoted to the task at hand, maybe next time!)

Chicken in vinegar - Lyon Style

Ingredients

  • 1 free-range chicken or fryer, 3 1/2 to 4 pounds, cut into 8 pieces, rinsed and patted dry
  • (I’m not ready to cut a raw chicken properly, so I went with 3 chicken thighs and 6 drumsticks)
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 6 cloves garlic, unpeeled
  • 1 cup good-quality white wine vinegar
  • 2 tomatoes, peeled, seeded and chopped, about 1 cup
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons creme fraiche or heavy cream (I used heavy cream)
  • Chopped parsley, garnish

Directions

  • Season the chicken evenly on both sides with the salt and pepper.
  • In a large Dutch oven, melt 2 tablespoons of the butter with the oil over medium-high heat.
  • Add the chicken and garlic cloves and cook until the chicken is well browned, turning once, about 8 to 10 minutes per side.
  • Add the vinegar and stir to loosen any browned bits on the bottom of the pan. Add the tomatoes, cover the pot and reduce the heat to medium.
  • Cook until the chicken is tender, about 25 minutes. Transfer the chicken pieces to a warmed platter and cover to keep warm.
  • Add the chicken stock to the pot and bring to a boil, scraping any browned bits that cling to the sides or bottom of the pan.
  • Cook until the sauce is reduced by 1/3 in volume, about 10 minutes.
  • Strain the sauce through a fine sieve and return to the pan, discarding the solids.
  • Reduce the heat to low. Add the remaining butter, a piece at a time, whisking constantly until all the butter has been added and the sauce is smooth and thick. Do not allow the sauce to boil and remove from the heat as necessary to prevent from breaking.
  • Add the creme fraiche and whisk to combine. Adjust the seasoning to taste. (I forgot to add the heavy cream at this point and remembered it only after I had plated the chicken, so I poured a little bit in to each plate. Not exactly as Emeril would do, but it seemed to be ok)
  • Ladle the sauce over the chicken and garnish with the parsley. (I was so excited that I had finished the dish, I totally forgot to garnish with the parsley!)

The broth is perfect for dipping, so make sure a really good baguette or loaf of crispy bread is nearby for dipping and soaking.

Bon appétit!

2 Comments

Filed under Chicken in vinegar, Emeril Lagasee, Food Network, France, Friends, Poulet en vinaigre

2 responses to “Bringing “Poulet en Vinaigre” to Canada

  1. Susy

    I wasn’t sold on the whole vinegar chicken thing in concept, but I have to say it was delicious! Not only did I have leftovers the next day, but again the day after. There was a lonely piece leftover in the fridge on Wednesday and although I wasn’t sure if it’d still be “good” to eat, I did anyways. Mmmmmm! Thanks for posting the recipe, I may use it one day soon!

  2. Pingback: Contemplating 2010 & Looking Ahead | Tastes better with friends

Leave a Reply

