Pesto with a twist

I thought about starting this entry as a 14 year old writing an essay, as in giving you the definition of whatever I’d be writing about. And you know what, it’s not that bad of an idea considering today’s topic.

I’m not going to do the whole Wesbters defines as…but today’s theme is “pesto”, which means to pound or to crush. The most traditional pesto that we all know is usually a mixture of basil, pine nuts, parmesan cheese, garlic and olive oil. However, I did not have those ingredients when I felt the urge, so what do you do? You improvise!

Makings for experimental pesto

Replacing basil – spinach

Replacing pine nuts – almonds

Replacing parmesan cheese – blue cheese and mizrathi cheese

Replacing olive oil – well, you’re not going to replace olive oil!

Replacing the food processor – The Magic Bullet

Magic Bullet - Not just for smoothies!

There was no recipe, just throwing stuff into the Bullet until I thought the consistency and taste was where it should be and I was pretty surprised and happy! The pesto was used as a topping for baked chicken and a sauce for pasta, both turned out really nice, but I did miss the basil scent, next time!

Whatever you have in your kitchen, throw it together, you never know what you’ll end up with.

2 Comments

Filed under almonds, basil, Magic Bullet, parmesan, Pesto, pine nuts, Spinach

2 responses to “Pesto with a twist

  1. I love the confidence you went after this with. I’ve been waiting for my basil to grow enough for me to make pesto with, but have spinach on hand, and may just try this to hold me over until then! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      Thanks for the comment:)
      I’m jealous you have garden fresh basil on the horizon! Good luck with the spinach if you go for it. I hope to read about your basil pesto on your blog:)

Leave a Reply

