Mission Crêpes – A Success

Well, as I mentioned in my last entry, my goal was to make crêpes for Father’s Day.

I’m happy to report I made something that looked like crêpes and more importantly tasted like crêpes – translation, they were goooood!

The recipe (below) called for a blender, but as always the Magic Bullet did the job.

Another use for the Magic Bullet

I have to admit, my crêpes started off a little on the thick side until I got comfortable flipping them without having them break, but I eventually got to pouring out the 1/4 cup of batter that the recipe called for.

Crêpes making in action

I’m a big fan of condiments and toppings, so…going clockwise, ricotta cheese, nutella, warm banana with peanut butter, ground-up cheetos (compliments of the Magic Bullet) and homemade blueberry vanilla jam.

Crêpes with all the fixins'

I left the recipe for the crêpes as is, but I did find they were a little too “eggy” (is that a word?). I’d likely try three (3) eggs next time I make them and you can be sure I will be making them again.

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into 12 cubes

Directions

For the crêpes: Preheat the oven to 150 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

  • In a blender, add the eggs, milk, flour, sugar, and salt.
  • Blend until the mixture forms a smooth batter.
  • Preheat a 10-inch nonstick crepe pan or skillet over medium-low heat. Add 1 cube of butter to the pan.
  • When the butter has melted, add 1/4 cup of batter and quickly tilt the pan to form an even coating of batter on the bottom of the pan.
  • Cook for 1 minute until set and slightly browned. Using a heat-resistant spatula, carefully loosen the sides and gently flip the crêpe over. Cook for 1 minute.
  • Repeat with the remaining butter and batter.
Giada made a rasberry filling and rolled them all with the filling before keeping them warm in the oven. I left them as is so they could be filled with whichever of the toppings were desired.
2 Comments

Filed under bananas, Cheetos, Crêpes, Father's Day, Giada de Laurentiis, Nutella, Ricotta

2 responses to “Mission Crêpes – A Success

  1. Susy

    I’m leaving a copy of this printed out for Ben with instructions at the top, “what I want for my birthday breakfast- without the cheetos + a magic bullet”.

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      Good call on the birthday breakfast! As for the Cheetos, they were a last minute creative addition and I thought they’d go well with the ricotta cheese for that savory option. It was a disappointment, but fun to have on the table:)

Leave a Reply

