Saying Thank You With S’mores

I was at a cottage this weekend and I was working on some summer arithmetic, follow along with me…

campfire + chocolate + marshmallows + graham crackers + whipped cream = S’mores + smiles

(Quick definition of S’mores – a contraction from “Can I have some mores?”

I had the pleasure of being invited to a friend’s cottage this weekend. The family has opened their doors for me in the past to enjoy some of their cottage magic. This time, I wanted to thank them with something a little different, so I asked if I can contribute to dinner one night by making dessert.

So that’s where my arithmetic began.

Step 1 – Fire, I gathered the wood, I guess I sort of contributed to the actual fire.

Campfire

Step 2 – chocolate, marshmallows, graham crackers, whipped cream (not a prerequisite)

All the fixins

The smushier the better

A S'more ready to go

Step 3 – Smush and bite!

S'mores for everyone!

I’m happy to report they were a huge hit amongst all ages and if I keep producing desserts, I’m invited back anytime and really, who wouldn’t want to come back to this?

Cottage living

S’mores are pretty simple…

For approximately 25 people

  • 2 boxes of Graham crackers
  • 2 bags of chocolate chips melted down in a double boiler
  • 2 bags of marshmallows
  • 250 ml of whipped cream beaten with an electric mixer with a couple of spoonfuls of sugar once you’ve gotten your stiff peaks
  • skewers, hangars, something safe to roast the marshmallow

From there you’re good to go…

  • Roast the marshmallow
  • Smear some chocolate on the graham crackers
  • Squish the marshmallow
  • Add a dollop of whipped cream
  • Eat!
2 Comments

Filed under Campfire, chocolate, Cottage, Friends, Graham Crackers, Marshmallows, S'mores, Whipped cream

2 responses to “Saying Thank You With S’mores

  1. how cute is this?! Love S’mores.

  2. Pingback: Jam-jams (aka Butterscotch Jelly Cookies) « Tastes better with friends

Leave a Reply

