My Day with Mona Lisa in Paris

Day 1 of Paris was a self-proclaimed success after many sights were seen, tons of photos taken and a ridiculous amount of pavement being pounded.

With some continued “joie de vivre” in my step, I set out for my second day in Paris beginning with the Louvre. It was a beautiful day and the pyramid was glistening, it was going to be a good day.

The Louvre

As I confessed in my last entry, I can barely stay inside the lines when I color and my knowledge of art is pretty much on the same level. So needless to say, I made good use of the plaques explaining what I was looking at.  I’m going to assume that everybody knows more about what’s in the Louvre than I do!

The pictures shall speak for themselves…

Victoire

OMG what are the chances that other people had the same idea of checking out the Mona Lisa!?

Mona Lisa is somewhere back there...

I apologize for the close-up of myself, but I was so happy to find a nice stranger who actually took the time to take a proper shot. It was neat (do people still say neat?) to see the Mona Lisa, but I felt that the hype didn’t match the actuality of seeing it.

Me and Mona

Surrounded by all this art, I felt inspiration. I failed, I know.

My attempt at creativity

I must have walked for an hour surrounded by everything Egyptian and didn’t even see a 1/4 of what was there.

Egyptian exhibit

A massive and I mean massive statue of an Egyptian Pharaoh that didn’t quite make it back in one piece. If I read the plaque correctly, the statue measured 10 metres and weighed about 2.6 tons.

Egyptian Pharaoh

I guess when you’re 10 metres tall, you better be able to find big shoes!

Pharaoh's feet

Venus de Milo and almost a perfect shot!

Venus de Milo

Ahh, that’s better.

Venus de Milo

After filling up my art quota and still having a bunch of things to check out in Paris, I made my way towards my next destination. At least I know i’m on the right street to get to the Arc de Triomphe.

Avenue des Champs-Elysées

My touristy pictures continue, this time in front of the Arc de Triomphe. Thank you random kind husband and wife for taking this picture.

Arc de Triomphe

I could have had anything to eat in Paris and for some reason I had a major craving for Pad Thai. Not the best I’ve ever had but definitely the nicest view while eating it.

Pad Thai

The wandering continued to a funky little square with performers and this fun little photo.

Afternoon wandering

Street crêpes, anyone? If you want to make them yourself, it’s super easy!

Street Crepes

Got my game-face on for one final project before I leave Paris.

Crossing La Seine one more time

In the evening, the Eiffel Tower is lit up and every hour on the hour. There’s also a light show that has it sparkle like a Christmas tree. I made myself a dinner picnic of baguette, cheese and wine. I was just missing someone to share it with…next time!

Eiffel Tower at night

5 Comments

Filed under Arc de Triomphe, Louvre, Mona Lisa, Venus de Milo

5 responses to “My Day with Mona Lisa in Paris

  1. Pad Thai in Paris???? LOL hahahahahahahahaha… sorry can’t help it, that’s really quite funny 😉

    In all seriousness, Paris is BEAUTIFUL! I really wish I’d get the chance to visit someday…. *wishful thinking*

  2. Simon Tooley

    I lived in Paris years ago and your photos bring me back to my days as a student – the crepes, the let down at the Mona Lisa – “Is that all there is?” and feeling very much the same in the Louvre amongst in the Egyptian section
    Thank you for the memories!

  3. Jerry Klein

    I’m jealous, Ethan. Didn’t you have Madeleines wih your morning coffee? I spent the 4th with South African cousins in New Jersey (Bessie’s father’s side). One of the guests at the traditional, mandatory barbecue brought her own delicious, home baked madeleines. It felt as though Proust had joined us. Love to all the family. Jerry

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      Sorry to disappoint Jerome, no Madeleines and not even coffee! I’ll pass along the love to the family. Hope to see you soon.

  4. wants2bsurfing

    I love homemade crepes! Especially nutella! MMMMMMM

Leave a Reply

