Homemade blueberry waffles. Family time. Gold. A lot of dog

It was family time this past weekend in Ottawa. My family consists of my sister (who lives in Ottawa with her husband and their dog Diego), my parents who live in London with their dog Harley (London, Ontario, not the other London which would be a far more difficult drive) and me who is without a fixed address these days but was in Montreal, so it was a short drive to Ottawa.

What did we do? Well, since you asked, we did some touristy things in Ottawa.

Pictures aren’t allowed in the Royal Canadian Mint…except for the ultimate tease of being able to hold a gold brick worth $500,000. The girl “protecting” the brick seemed amused. I can’t be the first one she’s seen do this? Am I really that original?

It's real...

We went to the ByWard Market on Saturday and picked up a bunch of fresh and amazing looking things.

Wild Blueberries everywhere

With wild blueberries on the brain, my sister suggested Sunday morning waffles and I was only to happy to help out and try to not get in her way. Although, I did the measuring, so if the waffles failed, it was apparently going to be my fault.

We went all fancy with the KitchenAid mixer, but the recipe does say you can just mix. So if you don’t have a mixer (like me), you’ll get a good arm workout.

If you got it, use it

Meet the Sunbeam waffle maker. It belonged to my grandmother and she bought it in the 1940’s. According to my dad, knowing his mother, it would have been the top of the line. A 70-year-old waffle maker still kickin’ hard, they really don’t make them like they used to, huh?!

Waffle magic

So, they take about 5-ish minutes to cook, so I had some free time. Meet Diego (white) and Harley (black)

Poodles galore

No words, just admiration for wild blueberry homemade waffles.

The combination of buckwheat and kamut makes for great taste and perfect texture. I guess I measured well. I’m pretty talented.

Wild blueberry waffles

Oh and I couldn’t help myself again. And Harley is not asleep in his bowl, he has just figured out the most amazing way to eat!

More poodles

Recipe

Whole Grain Waffles taken from The Art of Simple Food by Alice Water

In a large bowl, measure and mix together:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour (We used 1 cup buckwheat)
  • 1 cup mixed-whole grain flours (We used 1 cup kamut)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar (optional)

In a large measuring cup, measure:

  • 2 cups buttermilk

Whisk in thoroughly:

  • 3 eggs

Pour the buttermilk and egg mixture into the dry ingredients and stir until just mixed.

Pour in:

  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick)  butter, melted

and stir until well mixed. If necessary, thin with more buttermilk: the batter should pour off the spoon. Cook in a preheated waffle iron until crisp and golden.

Variation (which is what we did)

To make waffles with regular milk, increase the baking powder to 2 1/2 teaspoons and omit the baking soda.

1 Comment

Filed under Blueberries, Poodles, Waffles

One response to “Homemade blueberry waffles. Family time. Gold. A lot of dog

  1. I got my Kitchenaid out when I made the cookies. I think it was my 3rd time using it ever. Is making waffles considered baking? Because yours look good, but as you know, I’m not really that in to baking. 😉

Leave a Reply

