Where are my sheep?

When I don’t sleep well, it’s because I got something on my mind. But there’s good not sleeping and bad not sleeping, right? Like when it’s giddy anticipation because you’re off to Hawaii in the morning, well, that’s awesome. But there’s also the worrisome, restless sleep that have nothing to do with Hawaii.

Well, I’m not going back to Hawaii anytime soon, so I must have something else on my mind these days. I had the typical staring at the ceiling moment last night, trying to figure out how to make my sheep appear.

Well, I know why I’m not sleeping, I’m just trying to figure out how to correct the situation. I’d simply like to know where my next address will be. Moving to Vancouver last year was an easy decision, I didn’t like a bunch of things personally happening to me in Montreal and I had the chance to change my situation. So I did.

By moving to Vancouver, I had an opportunity to make 1) more money 2) be a part of the Olympics 3) experience West Coast life and 4) as a potential bonus, I thought maybe, just maybe the girl of my dreams was somewhere in Vancouver.  I had an incredible time and I’ve never regretted the decision and well, I’m still single, so 3 out of 4 ain’t too bad, right?

Moving to Vancouver was the gutsiest decision I’ve ever had to make in my life up to this point. Now, the question I have to ask myself is what do I want next? The answer, I’m just not sure!

Right now, it’s probably a 50/50 chance (those darn work permits) that I could get a job in London for the 2012 Summer Olympics, which would be an amazing experience! But am I facing the same decision in two years time? Probably, unless my dream girl is hiding in the UK somewhere and I do like fish & chips.

So if I want a little bit of stability with a non-contract job, what are my options, especially in the sports industry? Well, the United States is the mecca of all things sports and I’d love to live in the United States. I think at this point in my “career”, I am conceivably relevant enough to be permitted to work in the United States (again that darn permit).

So where is the next question, the additional benefit of Vancouver was its “winter”. I’m not a fan of cold weather, so I’m intrigued by California, Texas or some other state where I could retire my winter boots and integrate some white linen pants into my clothes rotation?

And lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about New York. I love it there and I’ve always felt it’s a city that everyone should live in their life for at least a year. I might spend all my money on a 400 square foot closet in Manhattan, but it would be for the experience, right? Maybe the girl is riding the subway…

Maybe I am focusing too much on location and just let the best job offer determine where I end up? Hmm, well, I drove through Montana a few months ago and nothing against Montana and some of the other less-sexy states, I’m not quite as excited by that prospect.

Or, the other option is if overnight I find myself with a readership of hundreds of thousands of people waiting to see my next cooking or travel adventure or some picture of my dog eating out of his bowl. That’s possible too, right?

So after all this, have I resolved anything? Will my sheep show up tonight? I’d be happy with even a couple that have strayed from the herd. On a positive note, I feel better after writing this out, life doesn’t seem as hopeless as it did at 2am last night. Maybe I should buy a pair of white pants just in case!

Thanks for hearing me out and one final question…can’t life just be this easy?

Contemplating Life

Life is good


4 Comments

Filed under Life, Sheep

4 responses to “Where are my sheep?

  1. My vote is for NY! I haven’t lived there yet, but I like your notion that everyone should for at least a year of their lives. Thanks for stopping by “A Hungry Spoon” today–we all need late-night brownie baking every now and then, you know?

    Have a great day!

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      Thanks for voting NY and visiting me too:) And yes, late-night brownie baking is essential (once in a while)

  2. Ethan-forget about white linen in NYC. But that is definitely a Palm Beach look;)I think London 2012 is a sweet idea. I vote for NYC and then go on and do London! Lucky you !!:)
    Lora

  3. Travel while you can, once you meet that girl she/ you may want to settle down. I vote London.

Leave a Reply

