Beet Chutney From a Train

So where do you get your recipes? You get them through cook books, friends, family, blogs, right?

Well, I got this beetroot (or just beet) chutney recipe a slightly different way. How’s this for random…

I’m on a train heading to Montreal and this fellow visiting from the UK named Martin sits down beside me. He tells me he’s excited to try poutine (as he should be) and somehow we’re talking about this recipe his grandmother has for Beetroot Chutney. At some point during the train ride, he is on Skype with his father and he asks his father for the recipe. Within a few minutes, it’s sent to me via email and poof I’m now the proud recipient of a delicious family recipe and I got a story to go along with it. How’s that for technology?

Beetroot Chutney

The Recipe for Beetroot Chutney (straight from the UK )

Stage 1

1. Boil 3 lbs of beetroot in salted water for approximately 1 hour, then skin, cut into small pieces.

Stage 2

2. Cut 1 1/2 lbs of baking apples into small pieces and place into a large pan.

3. Chop 2 large onions and place into pan.

4. Add 1/2 lb of sugar – equals 1 cup .

5. Add 1/2 teaspoon of ginger

6. Add juice of 1 lemon

7. Add 1 teaspoon of salt

8. Add 1 pint of white vinegar – equals 2 cups

Stage 3

9. Boil the ingredients from step 2 to 8 (everything but the beets) for 20 minutes

Stage 4

10. Add the beetroot and boil for a further 15 minutes

Stage 5

11. Allow to cool and store in resealable containers

Stage 6

Enjoy the pleasure of it!

So a few of my own notes from this experience. It was the first time I’d ever used beets and I decided not to wear gloves to see how powerful the red stains would be on my hands. My hands were pink for a couple of days, no big deal!

I used Empire apples because they are firm and hold up well to being boiled and baked. Oh and you may be wondering why are the stems sitting there? Do you remember the apple stem name game when you were younger? Each twist of the stem represented a letter of the alphabet and that would be the first letter of the person’s name you would marry. Well, I had six apples and I felt like entertaining myself. For inquiring minds, I recorded 2 A’s, 1 B, 2 C’s and 1 E. Sorry to all the Danielle’s of the world!

Empire apples and the name game

So once I got to stage 6 of the recipe, I tried it and it was good. The beets were soft and sweet, but the vinegar taste and smell were very overwhelming. There was also a lot of liquid left that I was assuming would be absorbed by the beets and apples. I tossed it into a container that once held a 2.5 pound block of feta cheese (so with that logic, the recipe makes about 2.5 pounds of chutney!) and figured it would be much better the next day.

The next morning, my oh my, the beets and apples did indeed soak up all the liquid goodness and the vinegar taste was virtually gone and I was left with a sweet and delicious beet chutney that I am sure to make again. I’ve had them on their own and I’ve had them accompanying chicken, they are great on their own or paired with something and that color is incredible.

Chutney from a train, go figure!

5 Comments

Filed under Beet, Chutney, Empire Apple, Recipe

5 responses to “Beet Chutney From a Train

  1. martin clegg

    Dude you made my grandma proud, hoping to come over again later this year, which would be cool to meet up. il get some other taste sensations to try. thanks again

    • tastesbetterwithfriends

      Thanks Martin, I’m glad I didn’t let down you or your family! Sounds good, see you anytime in Canada and if you have more of your grandma’s recipes, i’d be happy to try them out!

  2. Sounds like just the thing to make with the abundance of beets we have growing in the garden! Although I do have a jar of mango chutney in my cupboard that’s crying out to me…

  3. Looks great. I have been writing about cooking with 20 weeks of veggies from my local CSA, only to find out it was extended to 23 weeks(!) and I needed more recipes. I also added 1/2 cup of golden raisins to the chutney. I am terrible at following directions exactly, lol. Thanks for the recipe. I will link back to your blog.

Leave a Reply

