My Top 11 Roadie songs

Ok, confession time. I love to sing in the car.

I don’t sing well and I have a tendency to sing in a high voice (really high), but you don’t have to be good to enjoy it, right? If you’ve been following my posts, you know I have spent considerable time driving over the last year. Between driving from Montreal to Vancouver, Vancouver to San Francisco, San Francisco to Vancouver and Vancouver back to London, I’ve totalled over 11,000 km (7,000 miles).

Singing on the road

So what does this all mean? Well, I’ve been doing some serious singing throughout Canada and the United States and I have assembled my Top 11 Roadie songs. Don’t be shy, click on the link and sing along with me. Oh and why Top 11 instead of Top 10, because I wanted to.

Please don’t judge me.

In no particular order…

The Lion Sleeps Tonight by The Nylons (a capella version) – I start with animal sounds, I move to my own back-up vocals and belt out the lyrics. This song is normally saved for late at night driving when I need an extra boost of energy. A big thank you to Susy for not jumping out of the car somewhere in South Dakota when I belted this song out. I don’t think she knew what she was getting herself in to. Say hi to Susy, she’s blogging about food and doing an amazing job!

Get Out of My Dreams by Billy Ocean – Hey, I said, don’t judge me! How can you not have fun singing this classic song?

Humpty Dance by Digital Underground – Fun, ridiculous song that is better if you try to do the actual dance in the car.

Life is a Highway by Tom Cochrane – Enough said.

Stir It Up by Bob Marley – Usually saved for late night driving after belting out The Lion Sleeps Tonight. But honestly, Bob is chill and is perfect company regardless of when you’re on the road.

Respect by Aretha Franklin – Umm, so this is one of those songs that I go ridiculously high for some reason and I just rock it with Aretha. This song usually overtakes me and whoever is in the car gets the full performance. My friends are laughing as I sing because I’m so good, right?

I Wish It Would Rain by The Temptations – I’m a huge fan of Motown music and to me The Temptations are the pinnacle. Listen for the line “Cause rain drops will hide my teardrops and no one will ever know that I’m crying” and tell me that’s not amazing stuff.

Another Day in Paradise by Phil Collins – Sometimes you need to bring it down a notch and go smooth and slow.

Bust a Move by Young MC – I used to listen to this song going to the hockey arena waaayyy back in the day. I still get pumped listening to it for some reason. Probably the song i’d rock if I had to choose one for karaoke.

Fantasy by Mariah Carey – Simply put, I love singing to Mariah Carey songs. And yes, my voice goes crazy high and I normally see people shake their heads in disbelief.

Twist and Shout by the Beatles (I hear this song and I picture Ferris Bueller) – Go nuts on this one and go especially nuts at around 1:27, just let it all out!

10 Comments

Filed under Aretha Franklin, Billy Ocean, Bob Marley, Digital Underground, Mariah Carey, Nylons, Phil Collins, Roadie, The Beatles, The Temptations, Tom Cochrane, Young MC

10 responses to “My Top 11 Roadie songs

  1. Gwen Styles

    No judgment here! I love your road trip playlist, and might steal a couple of the songs for my own!

  2. Nothing from Dirty Dancing?

    Thanks for the props! And just so you know, I couldn’t jump out of the car, we were in the middle of no where!!!

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      hmm, I debated Dirty Dancing, but I can’t pick one song. Now I might have to think twice about it…
      So you admit it, you were thinking of juimping out of the car!

  3. ooh my goodness. seriously.

  4. Natalie T.

    Love it! I didn’t know you were an MC fan. Fascinating!

  5. MP

    It’s got to be the ODB Fantasy remix…amirite?!

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Very good Pugh! That’s the one I prefer (especially the intro), but I went original Mariah for the post

Leave a Reply

