Birthday Chocolate Chunk Sour Milk Pancakes

It was my dad’s birthday over the weekend, we were going to have brunch, there was buttermilk in the fridge, you do the math.

Oh and it’s my blog, so I can do what I want and I wanted to remind you that you can vote for me in Project Food Blog. I have advanced with your help to the 2nd round and my entry is my grandmother’s curried chicken and naan bread. Have a read please and click below.

Oh and if that doesn’t work, how about a picture of me being cute with some dogs? Will you click now?

Sooooo….where were we? Oh yes, I had leftover buttermilk in the fridge after making a super decadent Chocolate chocolate chip banana bread. So with buttermilk on the brain, I flipped open a cookbook that I knew with absolute certainty would have a recipe for pancakes involving buttermilk.

Thank you Joy Of Cooking

And of course, I found Sour Milk Pancakes and of course, I decided to chop up two ounces of semi-sweet chocolate into the batter.

Ready for flipping

Thankfully, the addition of the chocolate did not do anything to the batter other than make the pancakes even more delicious befitting a birthday brunch! Happy birthday Dad!

Chocolate Chunk Sour Milk Pancakes

Sour Milk Pancakes from the Joy of Cooking

Sift before measuring:

  • 1 cup cake flour (I used white flour and it turned out just fine)

Resift with:

  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon double-acting baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon soda

Beat until light:

  • 1 egg

Add:

  • 1 cup buttermilk

Combine the sifted and the liquid ingredients with a few swift strokes. Beat in:

  • 1-2 tablespoons melted butter
  • This is where I added the 2 ounces of chopped chocolate

And since this is the Joy of Cooking, it has great instructions on everything, including how to “bake” them. Let me share a few classic tips with you.

  • Before baking, test the griddle by letting a few drops of cold water fall on it. If the water bounces and sputters, the griddle is ready to use. If the water just sits and boils, the griddle is not hot enough. If the water vanishes, the griddle is too hot.
  • To assure a well-rounded cake, don’t drop the batter from on high but let it pour from the tip of a spoon. After you pour the dough from the spoon, it will be two to three minutes before the cakes ae ready to turn. When bubbles appear on the upper surface, but before they break, lift the cakes with a spatula to see how well they have browned.
  • Turn the cakes only once and continue baking them until the second side is done. Cooking this second side takes only about half as long as cooking the first side. The second side never browns as evenly as the first.
8 Comments

Filed under Birthday, chocolate, Joy of Cooking, Sour Milk Pancakes

8 responses to “Birthday Chocolate Chunk Sour Milk Pancakes

  1. Ooh, a puppy! I think I’ll vote for you…

  2. Natalie T.

    Hey Ethan,

    I voted for you on FoodBuzz! What a cool contest. Yes, the dogs are working. I am now officially hungry with all of these food blog posts! I like how you scanned the original recipe for the curried chicken recipe.

  3. what type of syrup? Do you melt chocolate and pour over or use traditional maple?

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      oh, where were you 3 days ago with that suggestion! Next time i’ll use chocolate, this time was just traditional maple syrup.

  4. Cute dogs and chocolate chunk pancakes? Yes, I’ll click now.

Leave a Reply

