Best Meat Loaf (Meatloaf)

Treasures are meant to be shared and I consider my grandmother’s very own cookbook a treasure. So, that means I’ll be sharing it. It’s a collection of her own type-written recipes, newspaper clippings (the earliest recipe I can see in it dates from 1957) and little notes amongst her and her friends about who liked what dish and where it was served. If the splatters and stains are any indication, it has withstood the test of time. Needless to say, it has seen a lot of kitchen counter-space action over the years.

I’ve known about this cookbook for quite some time, but only recently did it surface from mounds of boxes. It comes at a good time as I’d like to think i’m entering the formative years in my culinary journey.  I’ve recently realized that I need to start learning with the basics and if my grandmother isn’t around, I can at least have her guide me through her cookbook.

I tackled her Sweet and Sour Meat Balls recently and they turned out so well, that I decided I needed to go even more old school and make my very first meat loaf. It’s a dish I love, but haven’t had in years, which had me even more excited to make it. I’ve always thought meatloaf was one word, not two, but who am I to argue with my grandmother?

I’m proud to say I have made meat loaf successfully. It had a great texture between the meat, veggies and bread. The bread pre-soaked in milk definitely allows the flavor of the meat to easily seep in while it’s cooking. And I’m a fan of a crispy top and letting it bake uncovered allows that to happen.

Oh and by the way, nothing goes better with meat loaf than ketchup, so I attempted to make my own homemade ketchup as well…stay tuned!

Best Meat Loaf (If she’s going to call it the “best”, who am I to argue?)

As you can see, I left the recipe intact, I just tried to make it a little easier to follow.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef (or 2 pounds of beef) – I used all beef
  • 1 pound ground veal (and none of veal)
  • 1/2 cup of chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup of diced celery and tops
  • 1/4 teaspoon of pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of dry mustard
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 4 slices of soft bread, cubed
  • 1 cup of warm milk
  • 1/2 cup of boiling water

Directions

  1. Pre-heat over to 350 F.
  2. Soak bread cubes in warm milk.
  3. Add onions, celery, seasonings to the beaten eggs and combine with the meats and mix thoroughly.
  4. Add bread cubes to meat mixture.
  5. Form into loaf pan and place on a shallow baking dish and pour hot water around the loaf pan.
  6. Dent top with wooden spoon. (Still not sure what that means)
  7. Bake uncovered for 350 F for 60 minutes.
9 Comments

Filed under Meat loaf, Meatloaf

9 responses to “Best Meat Loaf (Meatloaf)

  1. What a beautiful post. It’s so nice to relive the people of our past through the things they loved the most. I can’t wait to see what else you and your grandmother have in store!

  2. Mmm, I’m one of those rare people that loves meatloaf. I always have. This recipe sounds delicious. Can’t wait to give it a try! 🙂

  3. Karen

    Isn’t it great to see the old recipes our family typed out on typewriters? I have an old recipe book from my grandfather who after he retired decided to learn to cook and bake. Our family still uses and loves the food he made for us 40+ years ago. Looking forward to seeing more of your grandmothers favorites. Also love the name of your blog!

  4. Pingback: Homemade Ketchup « Tastes better with friends

  5. Pingback: Cherry Snowballs | Tastes better with friends

  6. Pingback: A Surprise Gift in a Scrapbook | Tastes better with friends

  7. Pingback: Peanut Butter Crinkles & A Story… | Tastes better with friends

  8. Pingback: Peanut Butter Crinkles & A Story… | Tastes better with friends

Leave a Reply

