Lazy Susan Cookies

I have a confession, I didn’t own a cookie cutter up until two weeks ago.

But good things come to those who wait and I found myself a treasure. I am now the proud owner of a 1950’s retro Lazy Susan cookie cutter. That’s right, Lazy Susan, as in, 6 rolling moulds. I walked in to a bakery in Tuscaloosa and it had this great little random consignment store attached to it. I saw it (with the box) and had to have it, it’s as simple as that.

Oh and the box just also happened to have a basic recipes for cookies with multiple variations. According to the box, I can now make fancy cookies everyday!

This is that box.

This is that recipe.

And this is that cutter in action.

And these are the finished product.

Can you tell I’m excited about this?

For the record, I used the basic recipe, but played around with it a bit, as you’ll see below. I subbed in the brown sugar instead of the granulated sugar and tossed in 4 squares of chocolate with the shortening mixture. I got the color and the taste I was looking for just by tweaking the basic recipe a bit.

If you’re a fan of a crunchy, perfect for dipping-into-milk cookie, this is for you. I found them to be too hard, but warming them up in the microwave for 15 seconds was how I enjoyed them. The middle got warm and soft, but the outside remained crunchy.

Lazy Susan Cookie Recipe

  • 4 cups sifted cake flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs, unbeaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 teaspoons milk (ok, this is where it gets a somewhat sketchy. The box is slightly torn and I’m pretty sure I’m seeing a “4”. Although, the dough was a little on the dry side, so I added 2 extra teaspoons, but you normally have to play a bit here and there)

Directions

  1. Sift flour, baking powder, salt together.
  2. Cream shortening, sugar until creamy: add eggs, vanilla: beat well.
  3. Add flour alternately with milk: mix well.
  4. Chill dough 1/2 hour.
  5. Roll out to 1/3″ thickness on lightly floured board.
  6. Roll cooky (not a typo, they use the word cooky) roller over dough in continuous movement.
  7. Place on Wear-Ever cooky sheet 1/2″ apart: bake 8-9 minutes in hot oven 400F. (8-9 minutes was too long, the ones I took out after 5-6 minutes came out perfect)
  8. Yield: 6 dozen

Variations

Butterscotch-Pecan: Substitute 2 cups tight packed brown sugar for granulated sugar. Add 1 cup chopped pecans with flour mixture

Chocolate: Add 4 squares melted chocolate to shortening mixture.

Lemon: Substitute 4 teaspoons lemon juice for milk, 2 tablespoons grated lemon rind for vanilla.

Coconut: Add 1 cup finely chopped, shredded coconut with flour mixture.

18 Comments

Filed under Cookies

18 responses to “Lazy Susan Cookies

  1. Super Kelly

    This “susan” must have been really lazy!
    Enjoying your blog etc… hope things are good with you!

  2. I’m in shock that you had never owned a cookie cutter until the acquisition of your new little lady! Glad you finally took the plunge. 🙂

  3. How cute! I’ve never seen an old fashioned one before, but stumbled upon one of these this past week at a crafting store. The cookies it cute were about half the size.

    Wow. When you stepped into the cut out cookies realm you really went full on. Way to go. Your recipe version sounds like a keeper too.

  4. “Wear-Ever” or Wherever
    Maybe they mean ever wear?
    Great find!
    (and great post!)

  5. That is the coolest cookie cutter! Is there a possible new Nutella recipe in the making? 😉

  6. This is the coolest foodie vintage find!! Love it Ethan!!

  7. gingerbreadbagels

    Oh my goodness I LOVE it! That has to be the most amazing cookie cutter I’ve ever seen. You might as well go all out for your first cookie cutter right?! 🙂

  8. Sometimes the classic way is the best way. That box is great haha and I actually love the cookie cutter! All my cookie cutters are probably JUST as old

  9. Awesome find! I highly also recommend the 1950’s Mirro copper cookie press if you ever come across one – it’s infinitely better than any modern day cookie press and is a staple around our house during the holidays.

    There are plenty to find around the internet, but I highly recommend seeking one with the recipe book – there are several fun variations on the spritz cookies – most that we haven’t had the need to alter since my grandmother first bought the press.

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Thanks Kimmie! I will definitely keep my eyes open for the Mirro press with the book since that box was one of the main reasons I bought mine!

  10. Fancy cookies everyday??? The world’s pleasures know no bounds. Highly entertaining. Love it.

  11. OMG this is utterly fabulous! You know, this is the kind of thing my mom would’ve had and then….thrown out when it went out of fashion. So super cool to have found this! I love it, lazy or not. And funny thing, my husband loves hard cookies just so he can dip them in milk.

Leave a Reply

