Mississippi Mud Cookies & The Cookie Man

The Cookie Man is a man with a great name and an even better job. The job of the Cookie Man is to supply cookies and make people smile. That sort of description sounds like the job of a Grandfather. Well, then it isn’t surprising to know the Cookie Man Jar I grew up with once belonged to my grandparents and this particular cookie jar was bought by them because of its similarity to my grandfather Eddie, right down to the fedora.

It’s (sort of) like looking in a mirror! And yes, that is me a few years ago.

Although Eddie passed away eleven years ago, he continues to make me smile with my memories, the pictures and by doing what every grandfather is supposed to do, offer their grandchild a cookie!

If you’re a fan of a soft, gooey marshmallow chocolate cookie with the slightest little pecan crunch, well, enjoy!

Mississippi Mud Cookies – Recipe from 1,001 Ways to Cook Southern

Makes about 3 dozen

  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate morsels
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate morsels
  • 1 cup plus 2 Tbsp. miniature marshmallows
  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Microwave semisweet chocolate morsels in a small microwave-safe glass bowl at HIGH 1 minute or until smooth, stirring every 30 seconds.
  2. Beat butter and sugar at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy; add eggs, 1 at a time, beating until blended after each addition. Beat in vanilla and melted chocolate.
  3. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt; gradually add to chocolate mixture, beating until well blended. Stir in chopped pecans and 1/2 cup milk chocolate morsels.
  4. Drop dough by heaping tablespoonfuls onto parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Press 3 marshmallows into each portion of dough.
  5. Bake at 350F for 10 to 12 minutes or until set. Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

24 Comments

Filed under Cookie Man, Marshmallow, Mississippi Mud Cookies

24 responses to “Mississippi Mud Cookies & The Cookie Man

  1. Aw, Ethan, these are cute cookies. And that’s a great photo of you and your grandfather! I find a lot of great food memories are those that include family stories :-) These cookies look absolutely divine! What type of cookies did your gramps make?

    I believe I’ll be making the World’s Best Eggrolls with my mother on XMAS day and I’m so excited! I will be writing about cookies in a few weeks myself but, in the meantime, I’ve got a mean creamed mushrooms and kale recipe up. Check it out!

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Glad you enjoyed it Hester! Eddie didn’t make any cookies, he just bought them and put them in the cookie jar!

  2. Ken

    Great picture of your grand father looking proudly at little Ethan. I hope you bake a lot of cookies to keep that jar filled.

  3. OMG! Those biscuits look divine! Pecans and marshmallows! Yummy. That photo of you and your grandpa is precious. Sounds like you have some great memories. Also, your cookie jar is awesome. My grandpa doesn’t make biscuits, he just eats them.

  4. Aw so sweet! Beautiful story and beautiful treats!

  5. The cookies look delicious, but I am very charmed by the Cookie Man. He does indeed look like your grandfather!

  6. gingerbreadbagels

    What a sweet story! And what incredibly delicious looking cookies. As soon as I saw the name of these cookies, I knew I just had to check them out. And wow do they look wonderful. I just love how you put marshmallows on top of the cookies. Mmmm I would want to eat them all!

  7. sigh… I need another cookie recipe like I need a hole in the head but how do you resist a cookie with Mississippi Mud in the name? These look so good.
    Love the story about your grandpa too.

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      I know Melissa, I felt the same as I was posting this. I couldn’t pass these up either. Glad you liked the story:)

  8. I am such a sucker for stories like this. You do that jar proud! GREG

  9. What an adorable picture of you and your grandpa! I’m sure he’d be pretty proud of you–AND your delicious cookies.

  10. Oh, I’ve never heard of Mississippi Mud Cookies before, but now I must try them! Bookmarking these guys for sometime in January…right after I come out of my current Christmas sugar coma. :)

    Very cute photo of you and your grandpa!

  11. Lora @cakeduchess

    Great photo of you and your grandpa! And yes. cookie jar looks like him…so cute! Love these cookies!!

  12. What a delightful post! I love hearing about family memories/traditions/heirlooms. And I loved seeing that picture of your grandpa. Thank you so much for visiting my blog! I hope you are having a wonderful week full of laughter and love.

  13. I enjoy savory. I even like sweet AND savory but I am a sucker for cookies. These look delicious! With a name like that they have to be addicting!

  14. MC

    I just baked the Mississippi Mud Cookies, the batter is so good it nearly knocked me off my feet. In the oven now, drooling. =) Thank you for sharing!

  15. What a lovely story and these cookies sound wonderful :)

  16. Pingback: The Relationship between Food Bloggers, TasteSpotting & FoodGawker | Tastes better with friends

Leave a Reply

