Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts

Food blogger pop quiz time!

When do you know the “angle” for your post?

  1. As soon as I see the recipe, the post is already done in my head.
  2. As I’m cooking, I’m creating the story.
  3. As I’m sitting in front of the blank screen, it usually just hits me and I say a little prayer of thanks and start typing.
  4. I’m just happy to string a few words together that may or may not make sense.

I have good news for you, I think there is no one correct answer as we are inspired differently based on what we are making. A homemade family recipe immediately conjures up a story of learning to use a whisk with your mother and the post just writes itself, whereas you may come across a wonderful recipe for Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts but you have no connection to them other than wanting to try them and you’re left to your own imagination. So here is what I came up with, maybe a little #2 and #5 (I told you there was no right answer, so extra points if you went on a limb and said none apply to you!)

As the title suggests, I made Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts from Dorie Greenspan’s Around my French Table. As I waited for them, the smell emanating from the oven was not unlike an amusement park selling honey roasted nuts. Needless to say, any smell that is reminiscent of the amusement park is pretty exciting. But really, when is sugar, cinnamon and a few other spices tosses over baked nuts not exciting!?

As I pulled them out of the oven, the nuts had transformed from light-ish in color to a wonderfully glossy caramelized color. Since I had to let them cool down for a few seconds, I decided to admire the transformation that had occured in the oven. Virtually the same, but totally different. When you think about what happens in there, it’s pretty incredible.

Before - Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts

After - Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts

I made these now because honestly, what’s better than having something to put on the coffee table to snack on during the holidays? And let me tell you, it’s exactly what they claim to be. I went with cashews, almonds and peanuts that have a incredible salty, sweet and spicy hint to them with the perfect amount of crunch.

As is the case with recipes from Around My French Table, A little club has been formed French Fridays with Dorie and the goal is to encourage people to buy this incredible book rather than posting the recipes. It’s a great deal at Amazon (US) or Amazon (Canada) if you’re interested!

And lastly, let me wish you all Happy Holidays and enjoy your time spent with your family!

10 Comments

Filed under Around My French Table, Cocktail Nuts, Holidays

10 responses to “Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts

  1. I’ve really got to buy that book; I’m dying to know how you’re making these delicious confections!

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Thanks Amy! From the sounds of it over on your blog, you know how to make plenty of wonderful treats, but this book would certainly add to your arsenal!

  2. Merry Christmas Ethan! I also loved this recipe – it’s so perfect for the season!

  3. gingerbreadbagels

    For me, it’s usually #3. The story just kind of flows once I sit in front of my laptop. (thank goodness haha!)

    Oh how I LOVE this recipe, the sweet and spicy cocktails nuts are so good and quite addicting! Yours look sooooo delicious and I really wish I had some sugar coated cashews and almonds right now. (allergic to peanuts…and hazelnuts oh it’s horrible! No Nutella for me!!! )

    I’m so glad you joined French Fridays with Dorie. You’ve done such an incredible job with all of the recipes. And I can’t wait to meet you at BlogHer Food!!

    Have a very Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Lindsey

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Linds! No Nutella, poor you. FFwD is fun and it’s great to see other amazing bloggers like yourself seeing the same dish with a slight twist. Looking forward to meeting you in May!

  4. I’m a big nut fan as is, but candy them and add some spice and they become dangerously addicting. My friend makes wonderful candied spiced pecans and uses cayenne and orange juice. I’ll have to check out Dorie’s recipe. Thanks for posting!

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Totally addictive. They are placed strategicaly where I pass by often during the day so I can grab a few on the go!
      thanks for the visit Elizabeth:)

  5. I’ve never had these but between you and Lindsey at gingerbreadbagels I’m going to end up with that book. We have an overabundance of peanuts right now due to a Christmas prank but they are not sweet nor salty. Yet. I’m glad I saw this!

Leave a Reply

