Handwritten Brownies

Before there were computers, there were typewriters and before that there was this crazy thing called paper and it was used in combination with this writing instrument called a “pen” that was essentially an extension of one’s hand. By putting pressure on this “pen” and moving it around in certain directions, one was able to write in which it could be read by others. Crazy concept huh?

Now that my journey to yesteryear is complete, let’s focus on this handwritten recipe I’m obviously trying to get at. Not surprisingly, this is another recipe that comes from my grandmother’s cookbook, but it’s not her recipe. It belonged to her cousin’s wife Beverly, so they are aptly named “Beverly’s Brownies” and based on various factors, I’m pinning this brownie recipe at a minimum of 60 years old. One sure tell-tale sign is the total disregard for healthy eating with the amount of sugar in it!

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against sugar, I happen to love it, but I was struck with the amount of it in the recipe. However, since I love brownies and since I happened to find a recipe that calls begs for frosting, who am I to argue? They turned out soft and chewy with a ton of chocolate, marshmallows and the slightest little crunch from the walnuts. Beverly knew her brownies!

I was so in awe of the decadence of this brownie, I decided to measure it. This is what I came up with and even though I’m Canadian but prefer to think in miles, feet and inches, I decided to stay true to my Canadian roots, plus, as you will see the measurements work out better!

But for those who need a little tutorial. Here you are…1 centimeter (cm) = 0.393 inches.

We have 4 cm’s in total which works out to…

  • 2 cm’s of brownie goodness
  • 1 cm of soft marshmallow gooeyness
  • 1 cm of honest to goodness dentist-hating-cavity-causing chocolate frosting.

Beverly’s Brownies

(For those that can’t make out the hand-written recipe, here it is again in her own words with a few additions in a slightly more reader-friendly format)

Brownies

  • 1/2 cup butter + 1 cup sugar – cream
  • Combine to the mix 1 egg, 2 squares melted unsweetened chocolate and 1/3 cup milk and beat together.
  • Sift and add 1 cup flour, dash of salt, 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • Mix in 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and 1 teaspoon vanilla

Frosting

  • Melt 1/4 cup butter, add 2 cups sugar, 1/2 cup milk bring to boil stirring constantly.
  • Cook over low heat for 10-12 minutes gradually add 2 squares of unsweetened melted chocolate stirring constantly.
  • Remove pan from heat. (I leave icing in pan until thick for spreading.)

Pour into greased square dish at 325 for about 25 minutes.

When baked while hot, add miniature marshmallows on top until covered and frost with chocolate frosting when cool.

18 Comments

Filed under Brownies, Frosting

18 responses to “Handwritten Brownies

  1. My bad teeth (which are conveniently causing me more pain and trouble eating than I care for) are starting to hurt a bit more. Want, want, want! Oh, if only I could indulge in such sweets right now. Excuse me while I crawl into a corner and cry.

    By the way, what’s this paper stuff you speak of? Typewrite? Never heard of it. (I hope you know I’m only kidding. =) )

  2. Is it just me or the frosting is almost thicker than the brownies? BTW, 7 years trying to think not in metrics, I still prefer it. I can tell how long is 1 cm supposed to be, but 2 inches? Pass me the ruler..

  3. wow. you weren’t kidding about the sugar.

    but i bet that a chunk of that goodness would be great with a cup of joe.

  4. gingerbreadbagels

    I still write up recipes and I draw pictures to go with it. haha. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Brownies are one of my favorite desserts ever (cake being #1) so I am just drooling over these brownies. And brownies that have a thick layer of frosting on it are my kind of brownies. (cause I can eat the leftover frosting by itself) Then you just had to throw in marshmallows and pecans?! If you didn’t live all the way in Canada, I’d be knocking on your door and then I’d steal the whole pan of brownies.

    By the way, I just adore that photo. Love that you put the brownies next to a ruler!

    Linds ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I’m sorry but I could not get past the first paragraph without practically spitting out my drink on my laptop!! You are hilarious, but that is so true. I used to write these wonderful long letters to my friends when I was younger and there was not email or cell phones. Nobody writes anymore. In fact, I type so much now that I’ve pretty much lost my beautiful penmanship everybody used to talk about. Or maybe it’s the old age arthritis.

    I’m not saying a word about the sugar because you might come look at MY brownies, yikes! These are beautiful by the way, and I’m pretty sure they qualify as a Mississippi Mud Bar. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyway thanks for stopping by to visit and thanks for the laughs in return.

  6. My dentist is going to love me after these! As for me any recipe that I find written down on actual pen and paper is always a blessing. We get a lot of them like that from my wife’s Grandmother pies, cookies, brownies the whole lot.

  7. Wow! rulers are so short up there! And you still have pens?! ๐Ÿ™‚ I applaud your typing out this yummy looking recipe for us. Can you type out mine for me? There’s only a few hundred…

  8. Wow my teeth actually hurt just looking at the pictures! But well worth the sugar pain I’m sure ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Wow… Those are some serious brownies! Yum ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Those brownies look fabulous! You are right beverly knew her brownies.

    I love handwritten recipes, they feel so real and historic. I can remember all my handwritten recipes and now it would not even occur to me to write it down (sigh).

    Cheers.
    Velva

  11. There is something so right about this combination of brownie and frosting. Do you deliver? You’d make a fortune delivering these to women across the country. =)

  12. I used to be an unbeliever of brownies from scratch until I finally made some, yesterday! Not even joking I finally made some homemade brownies yesterday. they were amazing. Now I can properly read over your recipe (not the handwritten one, that’s a little hard to read ๐Ÿ™‚ and appreciate it for it’s greatness.

    I’m so glad I found your blog.

  13. Lora @cakeduchess

    Cool post! Love very much the way you measured all the yummy ingredients! I enjoy all these classic recipes you are sharing with us:)

  14. Wow, what a great post! I need to stop by your site more often for sure. I really like it a lot!

  15. In which I bookmark this page. Come back and make the recipe every day. Gain 200 pounds. I can already see this is going down a dangerous path…

  16. This reminds me of a recipe my mom used to make. I’ll have to pull that one out and compare it!

  17. Pingback: A Surprise Gift in a Scrapbook | Tastes better with friends

  18. Pingback: Treasuring & Remembering Grandparents | Tastes better with friends

Leave a Reply

