Smiling with a Chocolate Chip Cookie

The word “chip” doesn’t excite me too much. However, it takes on an exciting twist and makes me smile (as evidenced by the perfect bite mark) when it joins its word brethren in the form of “chocolate chip cookies.” Actually, go ahead, do  and say “chocolate chip cookies” and try not to smile, I dare you!

I had chocolate milk in the fridge that needed some cookie love, so I got busy with some chocolate chip cookies to keep it company. Chocolate chip cookie recipes must be a dime a (baker’s) dozen, but surprisingly I don’t have a go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe, that is until now.

My Southern Living cookbook has already produced winners like Pecan Pie Squares, After-The-Dance Pralines and Mississippi Mud Cookies and now, I have another winner. It’s titled All-Time Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies, but I was going to be the judge of that.

It began well, a cookie recipe after my own heart since it gave the time in the oven for a soft cookie and a crisp cookie. I’m all about the soft and chewy cookie. Like all good (simple) recipes, it called for everything that should already be in the kitchen, which makes life much easier and begins the smiling process.

This chocolate chip cookie did not let me down. I’m not sure if it is worthy of the title All-Time Favorite, I must do some more research before making that statement! However, with that said, it’s a great chocolate chip cookie. It was indeed soft, chewy and sweet, but not sugary hurt-your-teeth sweet. The chocolate chips held their form. but melted just enough to be soft and leave a little evidence on your fingers that a chocolate chip cookie had been enjoyed!

P.S. Enjoy the cookie batter too!

All-Time Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies (From Southern Living  – 1,001 Ways to Cook Southern)

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups plus 2 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 (12-oz.) packages semisweet chocolate morsels
  • Parchment paper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Beat butter and sugars at medium speed with a heavy-duty electric stand mixer until creamy. Add eggs and 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla, beating until blended.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl; gradually add to butter mixture, beating just until blended. Beat in morsels just until combined. Drop by tablespoons onto parchment paper-lined baking sheet.
  3. Bake at 350F for 10-14 minutes or until desired degree of doneness. Remove to wire racks, and cool completely (about 15 minutes)

*Bake 10 minutes for a soft and chewy cookie or up to 14 minutes for a crisp cookie.

19 Comments

Filed under chocolate, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Mississippi Mud Cookies, Pecan Pie Squares, Pralines

19 responses to “Smiling with a Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. Amy

    But I think what’s most important here, is to note…that you had chocolate milk in your fridge 😀 Haven’t had chocolate milk in ages. And now I’m desperately craving some.

  2. Great, now I will go to sleep CRAVING chocolate chip cookies. I blame you. LOL – ok, no blame. Just props to you, could there be a more simple yet wonderful pleasure in baking world than perfect chocolate chip cookies and milk. A great topic for a post!

  3. Oh, dear sweet chocolate chip cookie, not only are you a magnificent alliteration you are also delicious and comforting. Reminders of childhood and even adulthood. Just so darn good.

    I should bake chocolate chip cookies. I haven’t done so in a long time. Cupcakes. Cookies. Cupcakes. Cookies. Tough call.

  4. gingerbreadbagels

    Right as you posted this, I was making chocolate chips cookies! (Yes I bake late at night) But I just had to ask for your cookies too. 🙂 Mmm I so want to try this recipe, I’m all about a soft and chewy cookie. They look sooo good. I haven’t had chocolate milk in about a year I think? Too bad you’re so far away, I’d love to chat with you over chocolate milk and chocolate chip cookies. 🙂

    Linds

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Smiling with a Chocolate Chip Cookie | Tastes better with friends -- Topsy.com

  6. I’m always on the lookout for ways to perfect chocolate chip cookies (and brownies!). Thanks for sharing the recipe…I’m going to try them today!

  7. Chocolate chip cookies are so comforting. In fact, I find the whole process rather cathartic.

    Great post, Ethan!

  8. This is the perfect post for the day I am prepping my kids for a cookie adventure. 🙂 Maybe I’ll opt for this recipe. My old stand by is the tollhouse recipe (but without tollhouse chips, I go for ghirardelli) and I use butter crisco instead of butter, for that particular recipe I find it keeps the cookie more chewy. Its nothing fancy but I always have what I need on hand.
    Cheers (raises glass of chocolate milk).

  9. They look great! Nope, can’t say that phrase without smiling, you are right.

  10. Lora @cakeduchess

    These cookies look wonderful. I like to try different recipes…always searching for the perfect one. Now I’m tempted to try yours because they look so good.:)

  11. Yum! I would love some right now with my lonely cup of tea right now! 🙂

  12. I do love me some chocolate chip cookies… That does sound like a great recipe. I’m a fan of the soft cookie, too, and it’s always a gamble when you try a new recipe. Sounds like a great cookbook… I need to get my hands on that one!

  13. I’m all about the soft cookie myself. Nothing better (unless it is a big goey brownie). This is a great recipe. I have tried this one myself and loved it. Good choice!

  14. Chocolate chip cookies with chocolate milk, nice 🙂

  15. Chocolate chip cookies of all types bring a smile to the faces of my clan! Of course, getting them to wait until they are cooked is the challenge 🙂

  16. Need to try this – a HUGE fan of the soft chewy cookie. Damn you for making me want a cookie at 8.30am!

  17. Mmm, chocolate milk! I love chocolate milk and it’s good for you too! Calcium ya know!
    I bet the cookies were great dipped in the milk. Nothing like a double dose of chocolate 🙂

  18. You let me know if you need help researching this! Chocolate chip cookies are my favorite cookie ever. No contest. Warm, chewy chocolate chip cookie with the chocolate chips all melted…now THAT is good.

Leave a Reply

