Getting my “Around My French Table” groove back…

Confession is good for the soul, especially when there is nourishment involved. Recently, I confessed I have a weakness for Southern belles and their alluring accent, not to mention sweet tea. My next admission is that I’ve been slacking when it comes to French Fridays with Dorie. There is no obligation to post every Friday, but why wouldn’t I treat myself? The opportunity is there to cook (and eat) something wonderful every week and share it along the way.

Last week, when I saw everyone’s posts for their Savory Cheese And Chive Bread, I knew I missed out. First off, what part of that doesn’t sound good? Even the word “and” sounds delicious sandwiched between “cheese” and “chive”. Secondly, a bread recipe that does not involve yeast is a recipe I can get behind. Yeast and I are slowly getting to know each other, we’re still in the acquaintance stage, not friends…yet.

When I saw that the dish for this week was something called Beggar’s Linguine, the Savory Cheese And Chive Bread was beckoning to be served along with it and really who am I to say no?

I’d like to find a simpler recipe that results in something this phenomenal, because I don’t think it exists. Within five minutes of having placed the bread in the oven, the combination of cheese, chives and walnuts made for an aroma that even a baker would applaud. When I pulled the loaf pan out, I was smiling (and salivating) from seeing the baked cubes of cheddar cheese. As for the taste, it is indeed savory and comforting. Each bite provides something just slightly different from the next one. I will make this again with pleasure and the next time I take this over to a friend, I am sure they will ask for it again as well.

As for the linguine, it was a treat. It’s not often you find a pasta recipe that includes pistachios, almonds, figs and raisins but they all went together very nicely. Not surprising, the pasta and the bread were a perfect match and already has me looking forward to next Friday’s recipe.

As is the case with recipes from Around My French Table, the members of French Fridays with Dorie hope to encourage people to buy this incredible book rather than posting the recipes. I don’t want to sound like a used car salesman, but the recipe for the bread alone is worth the price of this book. It’s a great deal at Amazon (US) or Amazon (Canada) if you’re interested!

14 Comments

Filed under Beggars linguine, Bread, Cheese, Dorie Greenspan, French Fridays with Dorie, pasta, Savory Cheese and Chive Bread

14 responses to “Getting my “Around My French Table” groove back…

  1. alright, I’ll give it a shot but I’m pretty sure “look” is too literal so correct me if I’m wrong: il semble delicieux. je voudrais etre la. 🙂

  2. The cheese and chive bread looks delicious. Bravo!

  3. Melissa a raison – chaque plat a l’air délicieux 🙂

    Glad you are getting back in the FFWD groove and you certainly picket two winning recipes to come back with. Like you, yeast and I are mere acquaintances with a bit of a tempestuous relationship but I vow to slowly conquer my fear this year…

    That bread certainly has a on of possibilities for changing up flavours etc… It’s going in my “to make regularly” file!

  4. Looks like a recipe begging to be veganized! Your pics and description are great!

  5. Sorrel

    I’ll send you my onion beer bread recipe. It looks very similar and is super simple! Hope you are doing well!

  6. I’m happy you made the bread!Isn’t it wonderful! I skipped the linguine b/c wasn’t sure how my kiddos would feel about it and then I’d be eating the whole thing;)I know how you and Mardi feel about baking w/yeast. I used to be the same way…then I just slowly dove in and now it’s no longer something I fear;)

  7. I bought Dorie’s book about a month ago, but still haven’t made something with it yet. What am I thinking?! You’ve convinced me that this will be the first thing I try.

  8. So, so happy that you liked both recipes — they’re two of my favorites from the book.

  9. Okay, I’ve been on the fence about getting this amazing cookbook. I entered every contest out there to win it, I just didn’t want to fork out the cash, but you have convinced me. I am headed to Amazon. Thanks!

  10. I have to admit, I have the book… have enjoyed reading through it… but have yet to make any recipes (though I have tagged a number of pages for future reference). But these two dishes are making me wish that I’d just get up off my butt and dig into this glorious book. Because they are truly phenomenal.

    Great post Ethan!

  11. I gotta get the book!

  12. you are a phenom – this is FABULOUS Ethan!!

  13. That bread looks incredible!!!!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo

  14. Wow, this bread looks so damn good, Ethan!

Leave a Reply

