Vegetarian Coconut Thai Soup

You ever go into the same restaurant and order the exact same thing every single time because it’s just that good? Well, I rarely do, except for this one Thai restaurant that makes a Thai Coconut Soup that if it were a blanket, it’d be your most favorite blanket. You know, the one that keeps you warm on the sofa when you’re not feeling well and is long enough to tuck under your toes. Yes, that blanket. Alright, moving on because I don’t think the mention of toes belong in a food blog.

For whatever reason, it never occurred to me to make my own, but after seeing Dr. Winnie’s look so good over at the Healthy Green Kitchen, I knew I’d have to open up the pantry and create my own version.

The end result was exactly what I was hoping for. It was the comforting and familiar taste I wanted with the right amount of heat yet still soothing from the coconut milk. The tofu, noodles and enoki mushrooms gave it the perfect texture. Based on what is available in the kitchen, this soup can be tweaked a bunch of different ways.

Vegetarian Coconut Thai Soup

Serves 6

  • 8 cups of vegetable stock
  • 1 398 ml can of coconut milk
  • 1 package of enoki mushrooms
  • 1 package of firm tofu – cut into cubes
  • 1 package of Udon noodles
  • 2 tablespoons of Hoisin sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of Soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of sweet red chili sauce
  • 2 garlic cloves – chopped fine
  • 3 tablespoons of fresh ginger – chopped fine
  • a pinch of red pepper flakes
  • zest of 1 lime
  • chopped cilantro
  • chopped mint
  • salt
  • pepper

Directions

  1. Bring the stock to the boil over medium heat in a soup pot and add the hoisin sauce, soy sauce, sweet red chili sauce, garlic, ginger and red pepper flakes.
  2. Lower the heat to a simmer and cover for 10 minutes.
  3. Add in the coconut milk, mushrooms, tofu, udon noodles and lime zest. Let simmer for another 10 minutes.
  4. Season with salt and pepper and ladle the soup into the bowls and garnish with fresh mint and cilantro.

Now go grab that blanket and eat some soup!

29 Comments

Filed under Coconut Milk, Enoki Mushrooms, Thai, Tofu, Udon Noodles, Vegetarian Coconut Thai Soup

29 responses to “Vegetarian Coconut Thai Soup

  1. Yes, I would like a bowl of that please. With extra cilantro!

  2. Orly @yumivore

    I love soup!!! This makes me rethink my dinner plans …

  3. I love the idea of this soup! I can imagine how it invokes the association with the favorite blanket, all comforting, warming, fuzzy (OK, not fuzzy for soup:) I think this is going to become a chain, from Winnie, to you, to so many others, me included.

  4. Wow. First, gorgeous photographs. Second, gorgeous soup. I like thai influences in soup, so warm and comforting with that little kick at the end!

  5. This sounds so fantastic! I love that it is vegetarian too. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Yum! This looks exactly like the coconut soup I used to get at my college noodle joint all the time. Totally going to make it and reminisce…Photos are coming along beautifully, too! Love the mat and pot contrast.

  7. Paula

    Wonderful looking soup and excellent post about it. Great photograph as well and I like that you used a bamboo placement.

    (Totally get the part about the blanket being long enough to cover your toes! Crocheted my husband a blanket and his only stipulation was for exactly that LOL)

  8. Looks totally delicious Ethan! I actually prefer homemade soups like this to the ones in Thai restaurants because you can load them up with so many veggies and tweak the spices, etc. And you are quite right…the mention of toes should stay off the blog 😉

  9. I always enjoy Thai food a lot! The spice flavor combination is like party in your mouth! 🙂

  10. Such a flavorful soup! Lovely color and creamy consistency.

  11. HAHA! I love your comparison to a blanket. I do know what you mean… but it’s a cocktail (surprised?) 🙂

    Great recipe, Ethan! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Don’t let Andy eat all the cilantro… GREG

  13. Really fabulous photo Ethan. I’m not a fan of coconut or cilantro but can always appreciate a dish that surrounds you loke a warm hug.

  14. Ethan, this is beautiful. my favourite Thai restaurant makes gorgeous coconut soup with chunks of tomato and the contrast of the acidic tomato against the creamy coconut is delectable. You’ve inspired me to make some coconut soup.

  15. It’s been snowing for the past ten days. This soup looks perfect ! I want a bowl right now!

  16. Everything about this sounds wonderful. This is exactly the kind of blanket I want to be wrapped up in, sick or not.

  17. oh my…this soup looks so good. Normally I wouldn’t think I could make a soup like this…why? Have no idea! I have almost all of the ingredients, and it looks simple enough…I seriously have to break out of my comfort zone and make this!!

  18. I was just thinking about how I need a solid coconut soup recipe and thought for sure I’d have to modify one to not have fish sauce! Can’t wait to try!

  19. Great consistency! I can see why this was such a popular recipe among your tweets today. Nice.

  20. What a beautiful soup Ethan 🙂 And I agree with Dara, you don’t need to be sick to eat this soup – it’s a feel good dish anytime!

  21. This soup looks great… It’s looking fabulous on this rainy afternoon.

  22. Oh my! I would love this! Going to pin it right now so I have it bookmarked. 🙂

  23. I’ve been looking for this recipe for awhile! We love Thai coconut soup. I’ve got to make some and wrap up in a blanket on the couch with a good book!

  24. I thought you didn’t “do” cilantro! Looks like the perfect solution to warm my soul after a cold and rainy dragon boat practice. Going to try it soon!

  25. It’s THE soup!
    We ate that soup together! It was dinner with friends, and now we’re on dinner with friends. Perfect! Glad it turned out for your at home version. And I agree that your photos look fantastic.

Leave a Reply

