Apple Bread

I had a sneaking suspicion I’d be craving some bread as the thought of more matzah is losing its already lacklustre appeal. So that’s why I made a loaf of Apple Bread the day before Passover. My thinking was that I could get one final “bread” fix in before matzah took over my life. Then I could write and look at pictures of it while I was in need of a boost.

I went the route of apple bread because it had all the needed ingredients of making the house smell phenomenal, complete with cinnamon in the topping mixture. And let’s be honest, a slice of warm apple bread with butter or maybe apple butter for breakfast is right up there with the finer things in life. The crunch texture from the topping is a perfect complement to the warm and moist bread chock full of apples.

Apple Bread (Recipe from the great-grandmother of Kimmie over at Full Circle Adventure)

  • 1/2 cup of butter or margarine – softened. (I went with butter)
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 tablespoons of buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 2 cups of apples – peeled and diced (I used 1 Granny Smith and 1 McIntosh)

For Topping

  • 2 tablespoons margarine – softened
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of flour
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  1. Pre-heat over to 325F.
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until well combined.
  3. Beat in the two eggs.
  4. Beat in the flour, salt, buttermilk, baking soda and vanilla.
  5. Stir in by hand the diced apples.
  6. In a small bowl, combine the ingredients for the topping and mix to consistency of coarse crumbs.
  7. Pour the battle into a greased and floured 9x5x3 loaf pan.
  8. Sprinkle topping over loaf and bake for 70 minutes at 325F.

30 Comments

Filed under Apple, Apple Bread, Matzah, Passover, Recipes

30 responses to “Apple Bread

  1. yum! could we please slather some Nutella on it and make it even healthier? 😉

  2. I just bought a bunch of apples. Am I already projecting what I will be baking? This bread is just fantastic!

  3. Looks lovely. I have bookmarked the recipe.

  4. gingerbreadbagels

    Apple breads and desserts are my absolute favorite. This bread looks so good especially with the topping. I wish I had a slice, ok maybe two, right now. Love the colors in the background. My favorites! 🙂

  5. I absolutely love apple breads. I’ve been known to throw pumpkin into the bread {okay…I always do this}.

    This sounds delightful. It never dawned on me to use buttermilk even though it is one of my favorite baking ingredients. Wonderful as always, Ethan!

  6. Apples are one of my all time favorite ingredients to bake with because they add so much moisture to the recipe. This apple bread looks wonderful, something I’d love to be nibbling on right now while drinking my coffee.

  7. yes Ethan, this is one of the finer things in life . . . and especially when you have all the ingredients on hand!!!

  8. Apple bread with a little schmear of cream cheese, that’s a perfect breakfast. Look at that colorful photo! Your prop closet has some good stuff in it.

  9. Jan

    I think I’d slather it with maple butter! Yum! Did blogging about it/looking through the photos actually satisfy the craving? Sounds more like it’d be torture to me 😦

  10. I want to try this for sure! I would love this and so would my 3 kids!

  11. I don’t think I’ve ever had apple bread, or even seen it before! Maybe I really do live under a rock ;-). This sounds really good though so I think I will have to try it!

  12. Looks just delicious! Have a wonderful holiday.

  13. Looks like a delicious bread…dare I say healthy even? Either way, love the bread and the photos!

  14. A big piece of that, with a healthy smear of butter, would be perfect with my tea. Hope you’re embracing the matzah!

  15. Ahh…I can just about smell the apples and cinnamon! I’ll have to hold onto that until after Passover and then guess what I’ll be baking.

  16. Vanilla Bean Baker

    This may just become my new favourite bread and that’s saying something when banana bread has held that distinction for over 50 years!

  17. Cream cheese would have to be my smear/schmear of choice. Loving the apple bread!

  18. I’m with most..definitely a cream cheese shmear, but that bread doesn’t look like it needs a shmear, nice and moist – although I’m not against the cream cheese (mosist or not) for the contrasting tang.

  19. umm…slippery fingers, I meant M-O-I-S-T, not mosist, whatever that is lol

  20. I love apple cakes, I think I could eat this for breakfast everyday. It looks fantastic. Hope the pictures are helping you get through!

  21. Love your apple bread, Ethan, so moist and delicious. Also love the topping ingredients. The apple filling, makes it so incredible…and no doubt a great choice opting for the butter. Perfect temp. of 325 degrees certainly is fail proof, as well.
    Thanks for sharing:D
    Stop by my blog when you get a chance!

  22. Apple bread is one of my many weaknesses. Looks perfect!

  23. this is almost identical to the bread my mom baked when we lived in Russia (minus the topping). She’d also make it in a Bundt pan. I’ve made it in the summer with peaches and blueberries.

  24. I will definitely have to try this one for sure!

  25. You should of ironed that napkin….Oh Ethan…

    At least the bread looks delicious.

    We shall have no napkin errors happening in DC.

  26. Oh I am a crap friend. But not as crappy as AHEM – those who point out unironed napkins LOL! I read this post, loved the recipe and the beautiful NAPKINS (Dan….) and forgot to comment. Consider this stumbled and shared. Because it’s that good 🙂

Leave a comment