Applesauce Cookies (350 word post)

I know the words “Applesauce cookies” don’t ring through the ears like “Devilishly decadent triple chocolate cookies.” With that said, if my grandmother’s recipe book has a recipe for applesauce cookies, there’s likely a very good reason for it and that reason is likely because they are in her words “delightful.”

After posting such things recently as Nutella ricotta cinnamon pizza, Deep-fried pickles and Double chocolate cheesecake, I thought it might be time to lessen the caloric-intake for a moment. I suppose I could have done a post about a salad or an incredible tomato consommé, but I thought an applesauce cookie might just get the job done while still getting some cookie-action.

As a bonus, I found out that a lot of recipes tailored to those with their waist-size in mind use applesauce as an alternative to sugar nowadays. Seeing as this recipe is over 50 years old and knowing my grandmother’s fondness for butter and sugar, I don’t think this was her concern. However, maybe even she thought a little balance was needed at times in the kitchen. Don’t be misled, these cookies sacrifice nothing in terms of taste. It’s soft, moist with the perfect texture from the raisins and the nuts. My first thought as I took a bite was that it tasted like the top of a muffin which is always a good thing!

Applesauce Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 cup of applesauce
  • 1 tsp. of baking soda
  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. of salt
  • 1/2 cup of raisins
  • 1/2 cup of chopped nuts (I went with 1/4 cup of pecans and 1/4 of walnuts)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of ground cloves (I didn’t have it in the pantry, so I forged ahead without it this time)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375F.
  2. Cream shortening and sugar, then add applesauce, blending in.
  3. Sift flour with baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
  4. Add sifted ingredients to applesauce mixture and stir until smooth.
  5. Add raisins and nuts and stir until combined.
  6. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto greased baking sheet, spacing the cookies 2 to 3 inches apart.
  7. Bake about 12 minutes or until lightly browned.

Makes 4 dozen cookies.

(FYI – I recently began an online writing class called “New Media Bootcamp“. My goals are simply to learn and to continually improve my writing, Taste Better With Friends and maybe pick up some fancy tricks along the way. This week’s homework was to write a 25, 100 and 350 word post.)

25 Comments

Filed under Applesauce cookies, Big Salad, Blogging Class, Chocolate Cheesecake, Deep-fried pickles, Nutella, Tomato consomme

25 responses to “Applesauce Cookies (350 word post)

  1. Pingback: Applesauce Cookies (100 word post) | Tastes better with friends

  2. Pingback: Applesauce Cookies (25 word post) | Tastes better with friends

  3. gingerbreadbagels

    Oh my goodness for a minute I wondered what in the world was going on here?! lol. Applesauce cookies have taken over E’s blog! Good for you for taking a writing class and challenging yourself.
    I’m so glad you posted the recipe for these cookies. They look so flavorful and I would glady eat that stack of cookies for you. I have a habit of taking the tops off muffins so I know I would love these. 🙂

    Linds

  4. Oooo applesauce cookies? I never thought to use applesauce to substitute sugar, but I did hear about using it to substitute butter or oil in a recipe. (FYI when all of the butter or oil is replaced with applesauce it’s just not as good.) I like your recipe much much better.

    The name applesauce cookies makes me curious enough to want to try these…some of the “old school” recipes are curious like that. 🙂

  5. Great posts! You’ll definitely love the stir-n-drop sugar cookies if you like these, very similar concept. Just like eating the top of a muffin. =)

  6. Farmgirl Gourmet

    YUM! I am making these tomorrow! They sound delish! Thanks for the recipe and the drooling.

    Heather – Farmgirl Gourmet

  7. My kind of cookies! They look fantastic!

  8. Delightful, they are! I’ve made applesauce cookies before, and they have such a beautiful cakey texture. I can’t wait to try out this recipe!! Also, your writing class sounds really cool – good luck with it! 🙂

  9. Top of a muffin, you say? In that case, don’t mind if I do. 🙂 They do sound delightful, Ethan’s grandmother!

  10. Oh yum – I love how it’s a recipe where you have everything on hand 🙂

  11. This is Ethan “swears he’s not a baker,” right? Could’ve fooled me. I love applesauce cookies! That way I can eat more and not feel guilty. Granma recipes are the very best! Good luck with that 25 word post.

  12. Like the sound of “New Media Bootcamp” and challenging your writing style. And, I love the sound of these cookies. Copied the recipe and will be making them soon — thanks!

  13. I like how you posted your 3 writing exercises. Those cookies could feed me and my neighbors…but they would disappear quickly. Love all of your grandmother’s recipes. I bet these are delicious:)

  14. kms

    i love using applesauce as a sub. and your cookies look/sound fabulous!

  15. Those sound and look really good. You can never go wrong with a grandmother’s recipe book!

  16. these sound and look great must be very moist

  17. These look homey and sweet. I’m so pleased to have come across your blog. Your photos and posts look wonderful. I look forward to reading more!

  18. These look scrumptious, no matter how many words they’re communicated in.

  19. Ok, so it took me much longer to get my act together and make these cookies. They are FAN-TAST-IC! So delicious! I hope you don’t mind me doing a link back on these! My Farm-peeps need to make these! 🙂

    Farmgirl Hugs!
    Heather

  20. Pingback: Applesauce Cookies with Peanut Butter Frosting | Gingerbread Bagels

  21. Pingback: Apple Sauce Cookies w/ Peanut Butter Frosting | Foodbeast Apple Sauce Cookies w/ Peanut Butter Frosting | The Premiere Food News Resource

  22. Pingback: Treasuring & Remembering Grandparents | Tastes better with friends

  23. Pingback: Applesauce Cookies Version 2.0 | Tastes better with friends

  24. Pingback: Applesauce Cookies Version 2.0

Leave a comment