Cookie – Chewy vs Crunchy

Today we’re debating the “Cookie”. There are usually two opinions on this ongoing debate.

The question is…soft and chewy OR hard and crunchy?

I’m firmly entrenched in the soft and chewy camp (although, I rarely have ever said no to any type of cookie). I like how a soft cookie begins to fall apart even before it reaches my mouth, I don’t want to work hard at chewing it. If I want something crunchy and crispy, I’ll go grab some crackers.

So with that said, I was intrigued by a recipe I found in Giada’s Kitchen since she called it a biscotti, but in cookie form. She also wrote that it was buttery (presumably because of the butter) and more moist than a typical biscotti. Oh and did I mention, it also involved Nutella. So with all that said, I got to work.

Good news for the hard and crunchy people, the biscotti cookie still gives you the crunch and crumble that you love and will totally withstand a deep dunk in some cold milk. The toasted hazelnuts add to the taste and as usual, the Nutella is present and chocolatey good.

As for me and the other soft and chewy people, it is definitely not as hard and dry as a typical biscotti, which is great news! I would totally make these again, I think they’d go perfect as a light dessert with a cup of tea. But as for any-time-of-day snacking cookies, the search is on for an uber soft and chewy cookie.

Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti

Recipe from Giada De Laurentiis – Makes 36 (I got 24, my tablespoons were probably a little big)

  • 1 1/3 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup of chocolate hazelnut spread such as Nutella (If it says Nutella, I use Nutella)
  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup of light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup of chopped toasted skinless hazelnuts (I didn’t bother removing the skins)

Preheat the oven to 375F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In another medium bowl, using an electric mixer, cream the butter, chocolate hazelnut spread, and both sugar together, about 4 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until smooth, about 1 minute. Using a wooden spoon or rubber spatula, stir in the flour mixture until just combined. Add the hazelnuts and stir until just combined.

Using a tablespoon measure, drop spoonfuls of the cookie dough onto the cookie sheet, spacing the mounds about 4 inches apart. Use the tines of a fork to flatten each mound. Bake 10 to 12 minutes. Use a metal spatula to transfer the cookies to a wire rack and let cool.

Note – To toast the hazelnuts, spread them on a baking sheet and place in a 350F oven for 8 to 10 minutes, or until golden and fragrant. (I used my Magic Bullet to “chop’ them. I wanted to create hazelnut dust and hazelnut crumbs, as well as leaving some of them whole for additional texture.)

9 Comments

Filed under Biscotti, Giada de Laurentiis, Giada's Kitchen

9 responses to “Cookie – Chewy vs Crunchy

  1. Come to Denver where the debate stops. Soft and chewy? Only if you take them out of the oven basically raw and immediately cover them or put them in storage containers.

    OK…maybe a bit of an exaggeration but for the most part, either due to altitude issues or dry air issues, making a soft and chewy cookie is a challenge…so I just give in and expect my cookies to be accompanied by milk or coffee! And these would be perfect. Need my address?

  2. I’m with you on the soft and chewey….

  3. Nutella and Biscotti… Swoon ; )

  4. Hmmm I can see the dilemma! We love cookies chewy but we also love biscotti! And Nutella? Well, as you say this must be tried!

  5. Wait, how can I be a cookie fan and have never heard of/made nutella biscotti? It almost seems like a crime. I must get on this asap and will return to put in a vote on the soft/crunchy issue. I mean, I never vote before researching an issue 🙂

  6. I’m totally on the soft and chewy side too! My trick is to heat the cookie up before I eat it…or under bake it when I’m making them myself!

Leave a comment