Deep-Frying Everything But The Kitchen Sink

Warning! Please proceed at your own risk. If you choose to continue on, I commend your bravery. We are about to go on a deep-fried ride together and in the word’s of Colonel Sanders it’s going to be “finger lickin’ good.” With that said, let’s bring in the undisputed King.

I love deep-fried food foods and yet, my experience with fried foods has been limited so far to onion rings, fish  & chips and calamari. Recently though, it seems as if frying foods is “en vogue” or at least it is to this “Northerner.” After a recent trip to Alabama, I came home to deep-fried pickles and the Deep-Fried Choir angels sang as I bit into one. They were an absolute treat and I was convinced the beer-batter made it taste as good as it did. It was just so light and cripsy, yet it let the pickle shine through. I was convinced this beer-batter could make anything deep-fried taste amazing! So with the angelic chords of the deep-fried pickles still ringing through my ears, I set off to do some more traditional and experimental deep-frying.

Deep-Fried Experiment #1 – Gummy Bears

If you put a bag of Gummy Bears in front of me, the contents of the bag will disappear, regardless of its size. It seemed like a good idea, but sadly the oil melted the poor little guys to nothing and I was simply left with an empty airy burnt sugar bite of deep-fried nothing. Thanks for sacrificing yourself guys, RIP.

Deep-Fried Experiment #2 – Allsorts Licorice

I had a feeling the Gummy bears would be a failed mission, but I still wanted to see if licorice could be deep-fried. With that in mind, I turned to Allsorts licorice and while they’re not my favorite, they do fall into the “hard” category licorice. Thankfully, the Allsorts did not have the same fate as their bear brethren and they withstood the oil as they more or less held their form. It was actually enjoyable to eat as well. The licorice had become soft and more sweet than its non-deep-fried version.

Deep-Fried Experiment #3 – Jalapeno

This excited me. I’ve had deep-fried jalapeno before and in a word, “magic.” Imagine everything good about a jalapeno, the heat, the crunch, the tingle on your lips and multiply it! With it deep-fried, you get all that plus, an additional crunch and a slightly delayed reaction on your tongue from the heat. They are perfect on their own or of course on a mound of nachos!

Deep-Fried Experiment #4 – Avocado

I’d honestly never thought about deep-frying an avocado until just recently when Pam over at My Mans Belly wrote about avocado fries. Pam’s looked amazing with a simple egg wash and Panko crumbs. I can’t wait to try out her version sometime soon, but not that soon since I ate a lot of fried foods if you’re noticing a trend here. The key is to find a ripe, yet still relatively firm avocado for deep-frying. Surprisingly, the avocado loses nothing in terms of its flavor, it tastes exactly as it should. It was still smooth and rich, but warm and slightly soft with a great texture from the batter. And it’s sort of healthy!

Deep-Fried Experiment #5 – Nutella

Like the Gummy Bears, I wasn’t sure about this one. I knew it had to be frozen though for it to have any chance of working. With trepidation, I placed the frozen Nutella in the deep-fryer and after a very short time in the oil, I rescued it. Unfortunately, it couldn’t withstand the heat so it did shrink considerably. After letting it cool for a few moments, I took a bite and I heard the Deep-Frying Choir sing a sweet sweet tune. The light batter was perfect since it let the Nutella shine through. I encountered Nutella Nirvana when the warm Nutella essentially melt in my mouth. If Nutella could sing, it would sound like this.

Deep-Fried Experiment #6 – Brownie

So this one was supposed to be deep-fried cheesecake that I made for my birthday. It was perfect since it has been kept in the freezer, but I called an audible after seeing what happened to the Nutella. So, I took off ate the “cheese” portion of the cake because I didn’t think it would handle the oil. Thankfully the “cake” portion of the cheesecake is a great dense brownie-like cake. This turned out incredible! The “brownie” was up for the challenge and then some! The proof…I was smiling as I ate the entire thing. This is worthy of being served anywhere, that’s how great it was!

Deep-Fried Experiment #7 – Hamburger

I’d like to think of this as the “pièce de résistance.” No build-up, just the facts. I thought it would be great and it was! After grilling up my homemade patties packed with blue cheese, Tabasco and honey, in they went into the beer-batter with the bun, of course. I learned a valuable lesson. Deep-fried bread is a brilliant invention all by itself, but adding the deep-fried burger along with it is simply genius. Like you, I’ve seen it on television and scoffed at the notion, but it’s something that should be experienced at least once in a lifetime.

Needless to say, I went for a long run the day after eating my seven deep-fried experiments. And yes, my yearning for fried foods has waned slightly over the last 24 hours, but I don’t expect that feeling to last too long. In fact, I know the feeling won’t last too long since I’m already thinking of the Mars bar I didn’t get around to on my t0-fry list.

Inspired Beer-Batter For Anything (Recipe adapted from Southern Living – 1,001 Ways to Cook Southern)

Ingredients

  • 1 large egg
  • 1 (12-oz.) can beer
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. seasoned salt
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • Vegetable oil

Directions

  1. Whisk together egg and next 3 ingredients in a large bowl; add 1 1/2 cups flour, and whisk until smooth.
  2. Pour oil to a depth of 1 1/2 inches into a large heavy skillet or Dutch oven; heat over medium-high heat to 375 F. (I used a small portable deep-fryer with a lid which prevented oil from splattering everywhere. My suggestion for the skillet or Dutch oven route would be to invest in a splatter screen.)
  3. Dip item of your choice into batter, allowing excess batter to drip off. Fry in batches, 3 to 4 minutes or until golden. Drain and pat dry on paper towels; serve immediately.

Thanks for joining me y’all, I hope there was some finger lickin’ going on.

53 Comments

Filed under Brownie, Deep-Fried, Deep-fried avocado, Deep-fried hamburger, Deep-fried Nutella

53 responses to “Deep-Frying Everything But The Kitchen Sink

  1. I can’t believe you deep fried a burger! I’d love to have a bite of that. I bet you were feeling out of sorts after all of this. I’d like to start with the deep fried jalapeno then move onto the burger and finish with a brownie and licorice! 😀 Awesome work! Thank’s for sharing your findings.

  2. The brownie, jalapeno, and avocado look sooooo yummy:-) Sometimes it is just fun to eat unhealthy!
    Take care,
    Terra

  3. I’m wondering if you chilled the nutella it would become harder and then be easier to fry? I love fried jalapenos and fried pickles!!

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      I put the Nutella in the freezer overnight. I guess some things aren’t meant to be deep-fried, but we’ll keep trying:)

  4. Wow! You really did try frying everything! I just went to the FL State Fair last weekend where they are famous for frying everything…so I have a couple suggestions! 1st, you can fry cheesecake! They do it every year and it’s awesome! They also fry Oreos, Cookie Dough, Candy Bars, and PB&Js. The Oreos are my absolute favorite! They puff up and are delicious with a little powdered sugar!
    I have to say though, I was sad to see there were no Fried Green Tomatoes. Those truly are Southern 😉

  5. Wow! Love this post…I love deep fried whatever too. Wish the gummy bears would have worked, love them!

  6. poor little gummy bears… still, a remarkably thorough piece of investigative jounralism. 🙂 My personal fave is zucchini.
    However, what I’d really love, is a recipe for those hamburger patties of yours with the blue cheese/honey and tobasco. They sound amazing.

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Thanks, I usually wing it when it comes to the burgers, but they were pretty good, I foresee a future blog post on my blue cheese honey burgers!

  7. Lindsey @ Gingerbread Bagels

    Ethan my friend, this is so insane and I LOVE it! Deep fried fatty goodness, you’re a man after my own heart. Especially with the fried Nutella. My eyes got really big when I saw the love of my life as a deep fried ball of deliciousness.
    Crazy (yet amazing) idea to fry the poor little gummy bears. The one of the left now looks like a fat duck who ate too many ho hos.

    I can’t believe you ran after eating this. I’d need a long nap and than a giant bowl of broccoli. I’m looking forward to more deep fried foods from you. 🙂

  8. Niiiice! I’ll be experimenting in the kitchen w frying. Deep fried Nutella-yummmmo!

  9. Hilarious. Love this post. But I have to admit The Colonel had a skeevy glint in his eye when that little girl sat on his lap. Eewwwwww.

  10. I love how you sacrifice yourself for betterment of our plates. 😉 Glad you enjoyed the fried avocados and thanks for the mention.

  11. I’m glad you broaden your horizon and fried more than the usual suspects. This could be a new beginning … Taste Better with Friends, Fried. Wait, that doesn’t sound right … well, you’ll figure something.

  12. Jennifer A (Bread and Putter)

    Holy shamoley. You crazy but I like that.

    I think the avocado is the most intriguing to me. Hmmmmmmm.

  13. Wow and Yum! That is a seriously fun experiment!

  14. I almost gagged when I saw the deep fried gummy bears 🙂

  15. Amy

    Oh my gosh, Ethan. BEST. POST. EVER. And I know the amount of work it took to experiment, write, and put it all together. Bravo

    I’ve said for years that you could probably deep fry a shoe and it would taste good. Perhaps that isn’t true after all. But the idea and love of all things fried still stands.

  16. Love this experiment, and thanks for testing the gummy bear, but sad to hear that it didn’t work. I’m a lover of all things fried, so can’t wait to fry me some jalapeno and avocado!

  17. GAH! This is hilarious… I have to say, I would pass on the licorice. Not going to do it for me. The nutella looks pretty disgusting, but I’m sure it tasted great! I’m all for a deep fried brownie too. How decadent!

  18. OMG crazy!! You deep fried gummy bears and nutella?! I like the deep fried jalapeno, I can see how it can be magic! 🙂

  19. Now you know, here in NC the state fair prides itself in how much and how many deep fried things they can sell. Candy bars, vegetables, hamburgers, cookies, Twinkies, Pepsi, beer. I just did have some deep fried jalapenos on a burger the other day, and one thing I do miss is deep fried pickles.

  20. Pingback: Tweets that mention Deep-Frying Everything But The Kitchen Sink | Tastes better with friends -- Topsy.com

  21. You rock with that deep fryer! I love, and just smiled big when I saw those poor gummy bears! But I must agree, deep fried bread is genius, and well, that deep fried burger is beyond that!

  22. ha! I want to know how many miles you logged on the treadmill after this one 🙂 Bravo – deep frying various things has always been a fascination of mine after first being introduced to the deep fried twinkie at the great New York State Fair. Bravo!

  23. I got to share in Ethan’s experiments. Forget all the other stuff, the burgers and the jalapenos were the best. Looking forward to the next round!

  24. What a fun experiment!

  25. Pingback: Deep Fried Nutella | Foodbeast Deep Fried Nutella | The Premiere Food News Resource

  26. Oooh yum. I, too, tried deep-fried pickles for the first time quite recently and I think that I died a little bit (not due to the excessive use of hot oil, but because of the sheer deliciousness) and went to heaven! Last year, in Thailand, I had the pleasure of having deep-fried Snickers bites, and deep-fried bananas. Can’t wait to try out the beer batter – thanks for the recipe! 🙂

  27. Awesome. Just awesome.

  28. I am dying here…Gummi Bears #Fail but also so #Funny. Ms Paula Dean might be disappointed…I mean that woman deep fries BUTTAH!

  29. How are your arteries still unclogged and kicking after this?!

    Also, avocado, yummmmm!

  30. beth

    Could you try freezing the gummy bears? It might be just enough to keep them from melting but hard to say since they’re so small…

  31. Roberta

    Holy Cholesterol!!!!! You had me at Deep Fried Nutella LOL

    Just found your blog looking forward to more get posts.

  32. I had to chuckle a bit when I read this post… Too funny! I actually detest frying (in my kitchen, at least)… I just don’t like the way the whole house smells like oil. I would have to run about 30 miles to make up for all of that… But, it might be worth it for some of the deep fried Nutella. 🙂

  33. Well this is one way to spend an afternoon! I have a few fried ideas of my own… GREG

  34. Jenny Monster

    I like to have fry daddy parties, and I always bring my brother, because no gummy bear would get left behind.

    Next time, try a battered and fried PB&J. Heavenly.

    Nutella is at the top of my list for our next party!

  35. Elle

    Can you tell me a little more-
    did you use a deep fryer? If so what kind?

    Or did you just wing it with hot oil? What kind of oil?

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      I have a small little Black & Decker deep-fryer, you can’t stuff it with a bunch of things, but they are relatively inexpensive and I prefer that to a big pot of oil. I used just regular vegetable oil, maybe next time i’ll experiment with something else, maybe peanut oil. Hope it works out for you!

  36. Wow…., your really going where angels fair to tred with this one 🙂 I remember being absolutely shocked as a baby chef when my chefs used to do this…. I wonder what xxxx would taste like deep fried. I know Mars Bars (do you have them there?) taste pretty dam good deep fried & I did manage to master the art of deep fried ice cream, but I don’t think I’ve ever attempted to deep fry avocado or a burger. Excellent adventure 🙂

  37. This post is a classic. The gummy bears definitely look happier when they are not deep fried. The jalapeno and avocado I think are my Top 2 of your deep frying day. Do you need more Tums?;)

  38. Pingback: Deep Fried Gummy Bears | Foodbeast Deep Fried Gummy Bears | The Premiere Food News Resource

  39. Pingback: Skulle ni våga smaka på friterade gummibjörnar? - Gorgos!

  40. christellar

    OMG Ethan; the gummi bears ACTUALLY looks like meat (!?) craziness!!
    I love the hamburger and the avacado they look great 🙂 Congrats on the viral-ness too

  41. Pingback: Stacey: Reading Break Cooking Ventures « Dan's Good Side

Leave a comment