Peanut Butter Surprise Cupcake Timeline

Baking cupcakes with a three-year old girl goes a little something like this…

16:13 – Arrive at my friend Jean’s house to bake cupcakes with her and her 3-year-old daughter (Hannah).

16:14 – Hannah and I have never met, she hides behind Jean’s legs as we’re introduced.

16:17 – Hannah shows me her closet full of clothes and her 1,2,4,5,6,7,8 shoes. (4 pairs, but 8 shoes).

16:18 – I think Hannah and I are friends now.

16:20 – Peanut Butter Cupcake Surprise preparation time.

16:21 – I show Hannah the chocolate rosebuds, chocolate with sprinkles, chocolate covered bananas and Easter eggs that will be used for the “surprise” centre.

16:21 – Hannah says “the Easter bunny will bring me chocolates soon”. I reply “Well, the Easter bunny gave these to me as an early present”.

16:21 – Hannah smiles.

16:22 – Around this time, I wish I had researched the whole legality of showing pictures of kids on a blog. I have a feeling Hannah is going to be pretty cute during this baking adventure. I’m sure it would have been fine since Jean was there, but to be safe, I choose not to take any pictures of Hannah…next time.

16:22 – I’m pretty sure I can take a picture of Montana the dog. He’s thinking “Please buddy, drop a cupcake later for me”.

16:23 – Jean pours the sugar in the measuring cup as I measure out the butter.

16:24 – Hannah grabs the sugar from the counter and moves it to the bowl. Sugar ends up on the floor.

16:25 – I was right, Hannah is very cute.

16:26 – Hannah likes to crack eggs. Eggs and shell(s) go into bowl.

16:27 – Jean spends 5 minutes pulling shells from the bowl. Hannah is unaware of this activity.

16:32 – Batter is being mixed and it’s peanut butter heaven.

16:35 – Hannah gets to lick the whisk and says it’s “yummy”. We can continue.

16:38 – Hannah has a very important job. Place the chocolate right in the middle of the batter. After her first one, I say, “that’s perfect”. Hannah than places each chocolate into the middle of the batter and says “that’s perfect”.

16:40 – Note to self – Kids like to copycat, be careful of what I say.

16:45 – First batch of cupcakes go into the oven. Jean wants to play with her new convection oven. We cut the baking time from 18-20 minutes to 10 minutes.

16:55 – Cupcakes are out and they smell terrific.

16:57 – Cupcakes start to implode and crash inwards.

16:58 – Note to self – Turn off convection oven for the second batch.

17:04 – Hannah begins setting her small table for tea with seven glasses of water, even though there are three of us.

17:18 – Second batch of cupcakes come out looking perfect.

17:30 – All the cupcakes have cooled and get a slight dusting of powdered sugar.

17:31 – Hannah takes a bite and proclaims “It’s good and my surprise in the middle was a sprinkle”.

17:32 – Although they do not look as appealing, both Jean and I decide that the imploded/convection style cupcake is amazing. The outside is perfectly done, but the middle has a warm gooey batter-like consistency. For someone who likes batter and cupcakes, this is the best of both worlds.

17:36 – Hannah lays pillows across the living room floor and takes a nap.

18:00 – I am introduced to In the Night Garden and Igglepiggle. Igglepiggle and his friends chase a bike going down a hill for 20 minutes.

19:00 – I say good-bye to Jean and Hannah. I get a hug from Hannah.

19:01 – Today was a good day.

Peanut Butter Surprise Cupcakes – (Recipe from Southern Living – 1,001 Ways to Cook Southern)

Makes 24 cupcakes

  • 3/4 cup of butter, softened
  • 2 cups of granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup of creamy peanut butter
  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup of buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 24 milk chocolate kisses (or in my case, whatever you think might entertain a three-year old)
  • Confectioners sugar
  1. Preheat over to 375F. Beat butter at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Gradually add granulated sugar, beating until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition. Add peanut butter, beating until smooth.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda and salt; add to peanut butter mixture alternately with buttermilk, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Beat at low-speed just until blended after each addition. Stir in vanilla extract.
  3. Spoon 2 tablespoons of batter into each of the 24 paper baking cups in muffin pans. Place 1 chocolate on its side in centre of batter in each cup. Top evenly with remaining batter (about 2 tablespoons in each cup) covering each chocolate.
  4. Bake at 375F for 18-20 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool in pans on wire racks for 5 minutes. Remove from pans and cool on wire racks. Dust with confectioners sugar. Serve warm or at room temperature.

33 Comments

Filed under chocolate, Cupcakes, Peanut butter, Peanut Butter Cupcakes

33 responses to “Peanut Butter Surprise Cupcake Timeline

  1. Adorable. I bake with my 3 and 5 year old a lot and my one piece of advice which goes against all time-saving protocol, never, ever leave all the ingredients on the table. Everything will be dumped in the bowl as soon as you look away and who knows what you’re making then.

    Hannah is so sweet and I love that she took to you immediately. Compliments go along way with little people.

  2. awww your cupcake flower is cute! even with imploded cupcakes. Little kids are so fun to bake with. My friend’s daughter loved doing the dishes when she was 5 (fine by me!!). Sounds like you all had a great time!

  3. Love the timeline approach here, Ethan. Great storytelling, and I’d totally go for the gooey center cupcakes.

  4. Roberta

    Nothing is better then baking with my 4 year old niece, they are fantastic at that age. What a great day indeed.

  5. annie

    Very cute… I think that the Thaler Family need some grandchildren!

  6. Naw! I love kids. I bake with my little charges any chance I get, they make it lots of fun. Last time we made chocolate chip biscuits, then proceeded to burn half of them when we lost track of time in the swimming pool. Oops. I’m not a huge fan of Peanut Butter flavoured baked goods, but I love the ‘surprises’ in the middle. I like to do that with caramello chocolate squares in biscuits. Mmm.

  7. You’re a natural! We’ll have to get you to come and hang out with Les Petits Chefs one of these days!

  8. Sounds like a fun day!

  9. Amy

    Yep. That sounds about right. Wait until she’s five and then she’ll be directing you and telling you how to make the cupcakes. Ah, kids are fun. Mine “help” me in the kitchen all the time.

  10. Very cute post. The cupcakes sound delicious.
    I was introduced to Igglepiggle on Saturday by a 2 and a half year old. Fascinating show. We weren’t allowed to talk while he watched.

  11. 16:38 – Yep. This is exactly what kids do. Hilariously adorable when they don’t know what they’re saying! 😉

  12. I can’t wait until my neice is old enough to bake with! Very cute post 🙂

  13. OMG Ethan – you are the Bees Knees!!! you are going to make a great dad (if you want to be a dad) someday – i collect children’s books and am going to have to look for IgglePiggle – this is one of my FAVORITE POSTS!!

  14. Okay, that is the cutest thing ever. I’ll bet Hannah will remember that afternoon for awhile and will be asking her mum, “When is Ethan coming over to bake with us again?”

  15. Sweetest post! I have a 3-year-old, and I can completely imagine this going down. Thanks for sharing such a great story and yummy recipe!

  16. Now that was just too cute. How adorable!

    And this military kid loves how you format your time. 🙂

  17. This is my favorite part: Hannah than places each chocolate into the middle of the batter and says “that’s perfect”.

    So cute!!

  18. Awesome post Ethan! Cooking with kids is always entertaining.

  19. How sweet of you to bake with her. Kids can be so fun in the kitchen! Your cupcakes look great!

  20. This post is just the sweetest! One of my favorites of all your posts. I love baking with my kids. I’m so happy you had the chance to bake with your friend’s daughter and make baking memories with her:)

  21. You could fill the hole with more peanut butter! GREG

  22. I love having children in the kitchen (esp my cousins)!

  23. what a cute post. Loved the timeline.
    I’m sure Hannah will remember this afternoon and soon will want to make cupcakes again.
    thanks for sharing

  24. gingerbreadbagels

    How nice of you to bake with Hannah! Love the idea of peanut butter surprise cupcakes. 🙂

  25. So cute! The timeline made me laugh… So fun to cook and bake with kids!

  26. Reminds me of this recipe of mine that my friend featured on her blog last month!

    http://www.projectk.ca/Project_K/Blog/Entries/2011/2/4_Peanut_Buttercup_Cookies.html

    I LOVE anything with peanut butter. Yum! Looks like you had fun!

Leave a comment