My Arsenal in Training – Chocolate Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

You have your “go-to” recipes, right? You know, the ones where virtually everything you need is always in your kitchen and you can whip it up with your eyes closed…yea, those recipes, the exact recipes I don’t have, until now!

Finished product...but not quite as intended

I decided I needed to build up my own arsenal of recipes. So with that in mind, I decided to begin with banana bread. Everyone needs a great banana bread recipe, so with “great” as my goal, I obviously went to visit my friend Joy The Baker. I’ve spoken about her before, she’s fun, her name is Joy, she’s a baker and she’s smiley (is that a word? well, it suits her, so there)

I went through all her amazing stuff and found a recipe she had used by Dorie Greenspan and it was “Chocolate chocolate chip banana bread.” I’m not a morning person and don’t typically eat breakfast, but banana bread with two “chocolates” in the titles, I could be persuaded to sit down and have a slice in the morning!

So I had everything I needed and I started the process. I began by sifting the dry ingredients like the recipe called for. I stopped for a second to take this picture. I liked the swirl of it all, I found it very calm and soothing and I blame this lapse in concentration since I obviously stopped paying attention for a second and totally showed my rookie baking status.

I sifted correctly!

Everyone, please forgive me.

I should have put the dry ingredients to the side. Instead, I tossed the butter in with the dry ingredients and mixed them together. Then I tossed in the sugar and beat it and then tossed in the eggs and beat them. At this point, I thought to myself, “wow, the eggs got mixed in really quickly with all that flour, that’s odd.” But I kept pushing ahead with the addition of the bananas and beat them.

And then, the recipe said, add the dry ingredients in three additions…and I said “uh oh”, except replace “uh oh” with a much harsher set of words!

Well, at this point, I re-read the recipe in its entirety and realized my error. I pretty much screwed up Baking 101 Rule #1. Live and learn though!

By mixing everything with the dry ingredients right away, I think I lost out on some fluff factor by beating the eggs and butter on their own. However, the batter did not look horrible, in fact it tastes good, just a little on the dense side. So I got myself back on track, re-focused and remembered I was doing this to learn and I have now learnt something!

With that positive spirit, I plowed ahead with the buttermilk and chocolate and had the batter ready for the loaf pan. The batter was CHOCOLATEY and thick, but it was still really good batter and I knew I had measured everything properly.

And the final result, a really tasty chocolate chocolate chip banana bread that may be a little on the heavy and dense side. But I know what not to do next time and it still came out really nice, so I can’t wait to do it again and properly.

P.S. Joy, sorry for letting you down. I’ll do you more proud next time.

Chocolate chocolate chip banana bread

For a baking mishap, I’ll still have this for breakfast…happily!

Breakfast time

Oh since this is my blog, here’s a little reminder to please check out and vote for my Foodbuzz entry in Project Food Blog. Think of it as the next Food Network Star for blogs! Thanks!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Taken from Joy the Baker, who used Dorie Greenspan’s recipe from Baking: From My Home to Yours

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 stick (8 Tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup (packed) light brown sugar

2 large eggs

2 ripe bananas, mashed

3/4 cup buttermilk

3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter a 9×5 inch loaf pan and place it on an insulated baking sheet or on two regular baking sheets one on top of the other.  This extra insulation will keep the bottom of the bread from overbaking.

Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, salt and baking soda.

Working with a stand mixer with a paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the butter at medium speed for about a minute  until soft.  Add the sugars and beat for 2 minutes more.  Add the eggs one at a time, beating for a minute after each addition.  At this point , the batter may look a little curdled it’s ok.  Reduce the mixer speed to low and mix in the mashed bananas.  Add the dry ingredients in three additions (my bold comments), mixing only until they disappear into the batter.  Still on low sweep, add the buttermilk, mixing until it is incorporated.  Stir in the chopped chocolate.  Scrape batter into prepared pan.

Bake for 30 minutes.  Cover the bread loosely with a foil tend to keep the top from getting too dark, and continue to bake for another 40-45 minutes (total baking time is between 70 and 75 minutes), or until a thin knife inserted into the center comes out clean.  Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for at least 20 minutes before running a knife around the edges of the bread and un-molding it.  Invert and cool to room temperature right side up.

25 Comments

Filed under Banana bread, Dorie Greenspan

25 responses to “My Arsenal in Training – Chocolate Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. This looks delicious despite the denseness that you describe. I’m betting Joy will forgive you, however I do not know her so I can’t be certain. Thanks for the humorous quips and link to the recipe. I’m a fairly newbie blogger so if you have a moment stop by my baking blog.

  2. Ooh thanks for sharing the recipe! I must admit that I’m not much of a from-scratch baker, but I do often improvise and improve upon boxed mixes. For instance, this weekend I took a package of generic brand oatmeal muffin mix and added bananas, dried cranberries, flax seeds, hemp hearts, sunflower seeds and a grated apple. What a nutritious, protein-rich, delicious snack for my daughter!

  3. Your baking mis-hap is exactly why I am terrified of baking. I read the recipe carefully and I still forget things or make mistakes. Looks yummy though!

    Is it just me, or are your photos especially amazing in this one?

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Yea, but even with the mishap it came out decent-ish:) so there’s hope for us!
      Ha thanks, I tried to pay a little more attention to lighting, angles, so maybe!

  4. YES! This is my kind of bread! Sweet and chocolaty!

  5. Ken

    We all learn from our mistakes and now you’ll be a better baker. . The cake looks moist and delicious. I happen to love Dorie’s book, she’s my guru.

  6. Here’s the thing about banana bread — it’s never really light and fluffy and if it is, something’s probably wrong. I think both of your breads look very dig-into-able. And, as you said, ‘live and learn’.

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Welcome to my blog Dorie! Thanks for stopping by and offering up a life lesson on banana bread! Live and learn indeed.

  7. Looks good. You still got a nice rise out of it even with the out of order mixing. Keep baking and baking and baking….it does get better, and a bit easier.

  8. dooooode! Dorie Greenspan commented on your blog! seriously!? are you freaking out (?) because i’m TOTALLY freaking out.

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      I know! But I had to play it somewhat cool, but on the inside, I was like “ummm, Dorie Greenspan just read her actual recipe on my blog and said it looked good, as if!”

  9. You’re bread looks so stinkn good Ethan! Good job!! Keep up the baking!

  10. Peter

    That chocolate chip banana bread looks incredibly decadent.

  11. Pingback: Birthday Chocolate Chunk Sour Milk Pancakes « Tastes better with friends

  12. Oh, I really need to make this! I think I’ve got everything but the buttermilk, but that’s easily remedied. Thanks for sharing!

    Oh, and I’ve done that so many times. Not reading through a recipe is my specialty. 😉

    • Tastes Better With Friends

      Thanks Elle, I’m starting to feel better about not reading the recipe properly, but it worked out well!
      I have leftover buttermilk if you can’t find any or maybe I just need to make it again!

  13. Looks like a lovely recipe to me! Anything with that much chocolate and buttermilk HAS to be good! And congrats on the picture being approved by TasteSpotting!

  14. Il a l’air super ce cake !!

  15. Pingback: Double Chocolate Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Recipe | Banana Bread Recipes

  16. danmarie

    This is making me hungry.

Leave a comment